Too Busy with ADHD — Tip O the Day 879

Why Am I “Too Busy?”

Ram is on a roll; this comes from comments and discussion:

Too Busy, part one:

With ADHD –
1. It’s hard to set priorities.
2. I want to do it all.
3. I set good rules but it’s hard to follow them.
4. Life is complicated.

Report O the Day:

I had a good list today and was gonna make a lot of progress. Yeah, right. So of course, my printer broke down. It won’t recognize the network.  It’s a stubborn son of a gun and I think it has a mean streak.  After I’ve spent most of the day messing with it, I called my son in law for help.  He’s on his way.  The universe seems to be working against me.  And it’s bigger than I am.

Too Busy, part two:

I still contend that “too busy” is a state of mind, not a reality.  In fact, I only have one thing to do now.  Do this post.  And post it, of course. Oh, yeah, and wait for my son in law. But if I get this post done, and posted, and my printer fixed, I can call the day a success and save the rest of the list for tomorrow.  Nothing is that urgent or critical.  Urgent and critical are mostly ADHD feelings, rarely a valid picture.

Strategy:

Focus on doing this post and take my own advice from above; nothing is urgent and critical.

doug

Links:

Way Too Busy

Priorities

Teaser O the Day:

I do have a little bit of new ADHD research and I’ve decided to do a post on the scientific method just in case a few of you are not entirely familiar with it.  Of course, science has fallen out of favor in some quarters as some people are sure that their gut instincts are more valid than the results of research in spite of their lack of education and knowledge but since I am not, like them, a genius, I still pretty much go with the science, although with caution and a little bit of skepticism.

Yikes! O the Day:

My son in law just called. He took the dogs for a walk prior to coming here and they were attacked and two are at the animal hospital.  The wounds don’t look critical.  I don’t think the printer will get fixed today.  Glad the son in law and the dogs are OK.  See, I told you.

@addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpd
add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,strategy,strategies,add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies, tips,

I need all the help I can get.

 

Arghhh!!!

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote four ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. I also published a novel, Alma Means Soul. The books are available at amazon.com (soft cover or E book), or smashwords.com (only E books). The prices are as low as they are allowed to be. Managing Your ADHD Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, attitudes, controversy, dysfunctions, research, science, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Too Busy with ADHD — Tip O the Day 879

  1. dinos
    thank you for your support. i did spend endless hours and then
    i called for help. stubborn.
    one dog has had surgery and is ok, the other was minor, thank you.
    best wishes
    doug

    Like

  2. holdthatthought says:

    i’m sorry you had a rough day with the printer. stupid stuff like that pops up all the time and even for somebody in the “industry” it will still sometimes take all day to get it figured out.

    good job with calling your son in law for backup–that was a really good strategy. normally most people will literally spend endless hours trying to figure it out themselves.

    i hope the puppies are okay.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.