ADHD Research — ADHD Tip O the Day 877

 

There is new ADHD research, but nothing that new.

The stimulants sometimes cause insomnia. (This can usually be fixed by changing dose, schedule, or medication. I need to get my Daytrana patch off by 5:10 PM and I usually do.  I need two different alarms, 5:10 and 5:20, to manage it.  If I have insomnia, the first thing I do is check to see if the patch is still on.)

Adolescents with ADHD sometimes stop taking their medication (Surprising, because it should be helping them.  Not sure why they do this, but then, they are adolescents.)

The stimulants are abused in college, generally not by kids who actually have ADHD, but kids with ADHD  may share them or  sell them and may get pressured to do so.

The idea that the stimulants will help with study or grades is generally a myth.

There is not one specific ADHD gene, but a number of (single nucleotide) mutations, each with small effect but additive. (Copy variants or deletions might have a more powerful effect?)  ADHD runs in families, especially on the male side.

Our ADHD brains mature more slowly than vanillas’ and some parts are smaller. And adults who have “outgrown” their ADHD ( 50% of us, not me) still show the brain abnormalities. The basal ganglia still seem central to the relevant brain networks.

Pollutants, during  pregnancy or early childhood, may contribute somewhat to developing ADHD (presumably through epigenetics, altering the activity of genes without altering the gene.)

doug

Personal Comments O the Day:

Some studies suggest that ADHD is just one end of a spectrum, and while I tend to respect the science, although with caution, I don’t believe this.  I think that we are different, a different tribe (not just one end of a bell shaped curve.) I do not pretend to understand the genetics; please feel free to correct my errors on those.  There are still some people who do not believe in ADHD in spite of all the evidence; I do not find it useful to try to convince them but just allow them to wallow in their ignorance and wrongness -“My, that IS an interesting viewpoint.  So, do you think it might rain tomorrow?”

Link:

Great link from Dinos

Personal Note O the Day:

Last Sunday I courteously held the door open for a very elderly couple to exit the church. I felt quite good about myself, being so gentlemanly,  until they turned to thank me.  They were both younger than me.

  • #adhd #add  @dougmkpdp  @adhdstrategies

Snuck up on me!

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote four ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. I also published a novel, Alma Means Soul. The books are available at amazon.com (soft cover or E book), or smashwords.com (only E books). The prices are as low as they are allowed to be. Managing Your ADHD Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year.
This entry was posted in add, adhd, controversies, controversy, controversy, educate yourself, educate yourself, research, science and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.