Comments About ADHD — ADHD Tip O the Day 822

Do you read the comments?  I hope so.  They are often better than the post.  And contributing  upgrades the blog.

Here’s two of my responses to good comments: 

Scott
Good to hear from you.
The boating sounds great. Two things, non medication, that can be really helpful with our ADHD symptoms are exercise and getting out of doors – you’ve made a good combination. I need to get myself to go fishing more often -unfortunately we are in a drought which limits it anyway.
My little voice is enormously helpful, and I am working on getting myself to listen to it more – I still make the mistake of ignoring it, often to my regret. But sometimes it says, “Don’t say that!” a second after I’ve already said it.
I think for most people the exercise is a great help but not a substitute for medications, it’s a supplement to them. Still, for some people it may be enough help by itself.
Hope you and jm read each others comments – they support each other.
As always, I appreciate your commenting
doug

JM very good comment.

There are many things that can look like ADHD but I think a careful professional evaluation can make the correct diagnosis – at least if the professional really knows about ADHD. But I also think a knowledgeable layperson can often tell if it’s not ADHD, as you have done about your manager.

Everyone has their own individual response to any kind of medication. And the ADHD medications are not for everyone. I would guess that the hyper people you describe may not actually have ADHD, but who knows? Your experience with meds, like mine, is much more typical.

“Huge misconceptions” may be underestimating it!

doug

Personal Note O the Day:

I just finished my autobiography after four long years.  Published the 44th draft, which is a mess, but I couldn’t get motivated to do anymore. It’s for my descendants, hoping that at least some of them will be interested.  I would’ve loved to have something from my ancestors.  Now, hopefully, I’ll have more time to keep up better with this blog.

Question O the Day:

Do you read the comments on these posts?       

Follow up O the Day:

Science update:  Children with ADHD who receive medication are less likely to abuse drugs than those who don’t.

@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,life with ADHD

This should work.

@addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpdp

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote four ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. I also published a novel, Alma Means Soul. The books are available at amazon.com (soft cover or E book), or smashwords.com (only E books). The prices are as low as they are allowed to be. Managing Your ADHD Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, medication, medicine, science, stimulants, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Comments About ADHD — ADHD Tip O the Day 822

  1. Martha Puryear says:

    Good post!

    Sent from my iPad

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.