Principles For ADD or ADHD — ADD Tip o the Day 424

Here’s a review of the principles for coping with ADD or ADHD:

1. Identify a problem, devise a strategy, make it a rule, stick with it until it becomes a habit.

Then you don’t have to think about it or remember it anymore.  Often the trick is to recognize that something is a problem, and not just the way life goes.

2. For every problem there is a solution.

OK, this maybe isn’t 100% true, but its a good position to start from.

3.  Do it now, do it right, and do the hard part first.

this is a motto, as well as a principle, and i try to make a habit of remembering it every time a decision about doing something comes up.

4.  Small steps.

always break problems into small steps and work on one at a time.

That’s the four major principles.  They work!

What other principles can you suggest??

doug

Updates: 1. I tried cutting the ritalin strip into fourths instead of thirds today and fear that it did not work; too small a dose.

2.  will be talking on ADD at Southwestern College, Santa Fe, 6pm oct 2.  all are welcome, its free.  (there is a charge for CEUs)

3.  As far as i can tell, the matchbook amazon program is running, so if you buy or have bought a print book you can get a kindle version free – but i haven’t found out how yet.  will let you know.

4.  the vote was for black print this size.  Thank you for the feedback.

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention,deficit,ritalin,principles

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Principles For ADD or ADHD — ADD Tip o the Day 424

  1. patty – and you hit the nail on the head too!! once we recognize something is a problem and not just the way life is or the way we are, then we are creative. then we need to name it specifically, not just -i have trouble focusing, but – at work, i am too distracted by my coworkers visiting; or – i keep losing my car keys.
    thank you as always
    doug

    Like

  2. “Often the trick is identifying something as a problem . . .” Sometimes I miss that part. Once I figure it out, I’m very quick to come up with a solution but I definitely have to identify it as a problem. You hit the nail on the head.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Guest Tips for ADD or ADHD — ADD Tip o the Day 425 | ADDadultstrategies

  4. jj- this is both a great application of the principle but also a very creative one. i plan to repost your comment on the main blog unless you object.
    thank you so much for the comment
    doug

    Like

  5. iamjjstone says:

    I like to multitask by staggering the tasks into smaller increments so that I’m getting something accomplished with all of them, yet I never do any of them long enough to lose focus. For example, I work from home on my computer so I can also do housework during the day. I will work for ten minutes, fold 20 items of laundry, clean ten dishes, and then start over. Once I finish the laundry or dishes I find two other projects to work on and keep staggering them with my work. I end up being far more productive in the long run.

    Like

    • darsword says:

      Oh, how I wish I would have had this advice when my four kids were young. I had a problem that continues to this day that I call underwear in the sock pile. Folding so many clothes for the kids I would lose concentration and that is what would happen. This very act makes me realize how horrid I would have been suited for factory work. I will try to follow your advice as I proceed in life–if I can remember to do so! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

