Frazzled, or, does ADD get worse? — ADD Tip o the Day 367

I don’t think adult ADD or ADHD gets better or worse over time, but it certainly does fluctuate.  Right now I’m feeling frazzled.  Too much going on, too much to do.  I’m forgetting things, losing things, making mistakes –  My ADD is showing.

So what makes ADD or ADHD worse?

lack of sleep – that’s happening, partly because I feel overloaded.

lack of outdoors time – because it’s been too cold, but nicer now and I got outside yesterday.

lack of exercise – because I pulled a muscle  (no exercise feeds poor sleep)

feeling overloaded – that is a state of mind more than a reality; it can be adjusted.

So I know the strategies that will help me unfrazzle, just needed to realize what was happening.

add,adhd,adultadd,adultadhd,attention,deficit,overloaded,disorganized,strategies
the tide goes out, and it comes back in, calmly.

strategies next time.

doug

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Frazzled, or, does ADD get worse? — ADD Tip o the Day 367

  1. Pingback: Frazzled and My ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 701 | ADDadultstrategies

  2. Scott Marckx says:

    Not taking time for meditation and journaling is a set up for me. I do a little aspiration along with my journaling and try to tailor it to what I figure will help the most for the next day. Missing that tends to set me up for a downward spiral. Missing exercise, taking fish oil, sleep, all contribute too, but that little aspiration can get me back on track or at least let me see how I’m getting off track. The meditation and journaling set me up for choosing the aspiration.

    Thank you Doug for the work you are doing that is helping a whole bunch of us!

    Scott

    Like

    • scott
      that is a neat tip about the aspiration. if you would be willing ot expand a little i’d like ot put it into a blog.
      thank you for commenting.
      best wishes
      doug

      Like

      • Scott Marckx says:

        Hi Doug,
        Here’s how the aspiration came about.
        When I was first clued in to the fact I might have ADD I told a friend about it and he gave me a CD set by Pema Chodron called “Getting Unstuck” that he loved and suggested meditation as a way he used to deal with ADD. I listened to it a lot and, among other things, it has the idea of making an aspiration in the morning and checking in at night. The aspirations suggested were more spiritual in nature. I turned it into making an aspiration in the evening right after prayers and meditation. I decided to make it easy and practical so I would have an easy success and to write it in my journal. Each night after meditation I write about the previous day’s aspiration and how it worked out and then pick one for the following day. I noticed that picking very easy aspirations was good. I felt like I was succeeding and that built up and helped the rest of the day. I also noticed that even the aspirations I “failed” at seemed to pop up a few days later as a success. They seemed to enter my subconscious and happen on their own and in their own time. So now I try to pick some little thing that might turn the day in a good direction: get up by 8:00, or exercise for at least 15 minutes, or try to remember to be present a few times during the day, or don’t turn on the computer tomorrow. I try to pick something I can succeed at and that will move the day in the direction I hope will help. I still “fail” at them, but even when that happens, it gives me a clue that maybe I’m having trouble with sleep or exercise or whatever and I am that much more conscious. This helps me see where I actually am so I can then choose what direction to move in from here.

        I hope this makes some sort of sense.

        All the best,
        Scott

        Like

  3. homey
    i think any kind of stress makes the symptoms worse. we owe it to ourselves to reduce the stress – hard to do, (need strategies). will post on some strategies for frazzled next time.
    thank you for commenting
    best wishes
    doug

    Like

  4. homemakersdaily says:

    I can certainly relate. Feeling very frazzled myself these days for most of the reasons you listed above. Plus menopause. I read that menopause makes ADD worse and I think it has. No, I know it has.

    Unfortunately I’m feeling the effects of being so stressed and it’s not good. I need to get a grip – stress isn’t usually good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

