Habits using anchoring, by Jerry Bair — ADHD Tip O the Day 747

jerry bair on what I call anchoring for habits

“To make a new habit part of that automatic mind, all we really need to do is associate the new habit with one that’s already automatic. Some also call this anchoring.
This is what it may look like in practice…
  • After I wake up, I will brush my teeth.
  • After I workout, I will eat a healthy breakfast.
  • After I make my morning coffee, I will plan my to-do list for the day.
  • During my commute, I will listen to motivational audio to get in the right mindset.
Of course, none of this really works if you don’t honestly want the new habit…
Let me know if this works for you, and in the meantime…

 

From doug:
Anchoring is a powerful tool for ADHD.  You can use anything that’s repetitive as an anchor – hearing a bell, hanging up the phone, going to the bathroom, waiting at a stop light, etc etc.  Your choice of the anchor largely depends on how often you want to do the action you’re working on.

 

We want to make habits.  Then we don’t need to remember, make decisions, or rely on willpower, none of which we are very good at.

 

doug

 

Lame Quip O the Day:
I hope this post takes off!

 

Bonus Links:

 

addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpdp
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Habits using anchoring, by Jerry Bair — ADHD Tip O the Day 747

  1. Jeff says:

    Hi Doug. Where have you been? This post of yours is dated two weeks ago, and you normally post about 2-3 times a week! Have you just taken a hiatus? Are you away on vacation? Most importantly, I hope and pray you are well. I feel that you are my wise friend who helps me deal with my ADD. And I miss hearing from you!

    Please reply as soon as possible and let us know that you and Martha are well. That would be much appreciated! And, by the way, I enjoyed this post. It’s funny how many of your links referring back to older posts take me to one that I had previously commented on! Thanks for being there for me over the past 18+ months! Jeff

    Like

Leave a Reply

