Momma Tried Meds— ADHD Tip O the Day 853

Should you give medication to your ADHD child, or take it your self?

Diane Yvonne shared her post on another site.

“Just wanting to share my experience. My 11 year old son has ADD. We opted not to try medication for some time, just personal preference and fears of the unknown stopped us. Now I feel like such a terrible Mom as we put our son on medication for the first time in January and he is doing GREAT! He just brought home his first report card and he has a 3.0 GPA. That is a first! He describes ADD unmedicated as a big bright room full of distractions and he describes being on medication as being in a room big room with light shining on the task he needs to focus on. This was how he describes a classroom setting. He is getting class work done now, so happy I let go of my fears and finally tried a medication for him.”

There are a lot of people afraid or unwilling to try ADHD medication for a number of different reasons.  It is important to educate yourself and deal with facts and not fears and unfounded opinions. I believe that every child with ADHD deserves a trial of medication.  Ritalin would be my first choice However, the current medical guidelines recommend trying other behavioral approaches first, so apparently sometimes they work.

I’ve said before: for some people the medications don’t work; for some people, like me, they help some; for some people, like Diane’s son, they’re a miracle.

Diane, thank you for sharing.  I applaud your courage.

doug

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,strategy,strategies,add,adhd,adult ad@addstrategies  #adhd #add @dougmkpdpd,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies,Diagnosis,misdiagnosis, childhood ADHD,

Meds can help ADHD.

Bonus Links:

Big Discussion

Meds for ADHD kids

Non stimulant meds

@addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpdp

Gift O the Day:

I’m going to try to send a free E booklet to all new subscribers. Six Basic Strategies for Coping with Adult ADD/ADHD.

If you have already subscribed and would like one, get me your email address and I’ll send it.

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote four ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. I also published a novel, Alma Means Soul. The books are available at amazon.com (soft cover or E book), or smashwords.com (only E books). The prices are as low as they are allowed to be. Managing Your ADHD Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year.
This entry was posted in add, adhd, attitudes, controversy, medication, medication, medicine, medicine, research, science, stimulants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Momma Tried Meds— ADHD Tip O the Day 853

  1. rammkatze says:

    So glad to read positive reviews from ADD meds from parents. Medicine is a beautiful thing.
    Behavioral therapy might be good for children who are restless but do well in school, I’d assume. I can’t really figure out how it would help with focusing on school work.

    Lots of people like to sneer at ADHD and make statements like “Back in my day, you got a spanking and that set you straight”, but being one of the kids who got spankings AND was eventually diagnosed with ADHD at the age of 32/33, I really can’t agree.
    I remember I was an A student in elementary school: I already knew how to read when I started school, I loved drawing and I was very curious and willing to learn, so my assumption nowadays is that, despite being restless and bored easily, my interests made me hyperfocus on the school subjects (I still have an amazingly keen abilty to memorize by ear). However, I struggled with long division when the number do be divided by was larger than 10. It was just something I couldn’t get right. One of my sisters (considerably older) filled a whole A5 notebook with exercises of long division (with plenty of room to solve them inbetween), explained to me how long division worked, and then she tied my foot to the big, heavy, dining-room marble table and left me there alone to solve everything – pretty medieval stuff. After a few hours, she came back and checked my exercises. Most were wrong and until this day, I don’t know how to do long division (even though calculus wasn’t hard when I tried college…). There goes the theory that you just need to rough kids up…

    Like

    • ram – wow! quite a story. I bet you don’t need to do any long division more than 3 or 4 time a day now. : )our stories have some similarities. I dont think the spankings gave me any long term benefits (that’s a joke too). I have some musical things too, i can remember songs and can tell when a tunes off, although my ability to play anything is quite limited.
      thank you for your great contributions.
      doug

      Liked by 1 person

      • rammkatze says:

        I divide everything in my head. I only divide by 2, 5 and 10 (mostly 2 and 10). Then I add the bits up. I use it to multiply larger number in my head. If I need to multiply something by 5, like 258oz, I multiply by 10 and divide by 2, for example. Because you just put a 0 in front (2580) and divide by two (1290). Sneaky. :p

        Like

        • Ram – I do the same thing. I don’t know if its sneaky, its smart. Its a strategy, or a math trick. Its just logical.
          as always, thank you for commenting.
          ps- that was a joke, about using long division- like, never?
          best wishes
          doug

          Like

  2. Does kicking count??

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.