Your Weight and ADD ADHD — ADD Tip o the Day 677

Losing Weight, Even With ADD ADHD

I’m an expert on losing weight.  I’ve lost hundreds of pounds.

I’m also an expert in putting pounds back on.  Done that, too.

If I work really hard at it, I can lose a pound in a week.  That would be 52 pounds in a year!

With no effort at all, I can gain five pounds in one evening.

But I think I’m onto something now.  Have lost 17 pounds in several months and so far haven’t put it back on.  I’ll share my secret, but first, I have to tell you –

Diets don’t work. 

Diets do not work.  Sometimes people do lose weight on a diet, but also, inevitably, they regain more than they lost.  Because – diets do not work.

As you very well know, what works is to change your eating habits and your lifestyle.  Permanently.  You know that, you just didn’t want to hear it again.

We live in El Castillo, a wonderful place, and they feed us very well.  Extensive menu, good choices, good food.  Great multi choice desert table   –    I gained ten pounds in our first three months here.  Wasn’t sure which of the six choices was the best, so I had to try all of them.  Plus the frozen yogurt or ice cream after, which of course didn’t count.  One of the features of ADD ADHD is a lack of will power, have you noticed?  I mean, it was sitting right out there in front of me.

 

So, my secret next time.

doug

Bonus Link

Sentences that can change your life from J Kansara

NOTE:  Michael is still in ICU but off the ventilator and seems to be doing well.  Thank you all for your prayers and support.

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies, tips,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,weight,eating,pounds,desert,ice cream

El Castillo Desert Table

Oh, my!

 

@addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpdp

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote four ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. I also published a novel, Alma Means Soul. The books are available at amazon.com (soft cover or E book), or smashwords.com (only E books). The prices are as low as they are allowed to be. Managing Your ADHD Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Your Weight and ADD ADHD — ADD Tip o the Day 677

  1. rammkatzera says:

    Well done, Doug! 🙂 And it’s good to know your grandson is doing better!
    I too am battling with the pounds and for the first time since ever, been keeping them down! Since March I lost 57 pounds (!) since March, but the most amazing thing about this is, for about 4 months inbetween, I maintained my weigh (+/-4 pounds) which is a first! Although I knew it was about changing habits, what really did it for me was giving up something for life, like I gave up smoking: I gave up bagged potato chips, bagged maize snacks, etc. I do get to eat chips a coupple of times a year, because they sell them freshly “chipped” and fried at the Christmas Markets here and I forgot the rule about bagged snacks. But they’re not bagged and they’re only around christmas time, so that’s ok. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ram-WOW! congratulations. and again, its the maintaining thats the hardest and the most important. i encourage you to eat the chips a couple of times a year, you deserve it and it helps you not feel deprived, which is a trap towards weight gain.
      thank you for contributing
      doug

      Like

      • Anonymous says:

        Thanks! Like I said, I’ll always eat the fresh ones at the market. I think I deserve them too! 🙂 two things also helped: buying a scale, so I don’t kid myself in why a particular item of clothing nicht be tighter or wider; and listening to the WHO when it comes to fat: we always try to cut as much fat as possible and that’s wrong. The WHO (as most doctors) will say your daily energy intake should be 25-30% from healthy fats. For a person who needs 2000kcal a day, that’s 500-650kcal of fats a day! And what happens when I don’t cut as much fat is, I can have smaller portions AND still feel satisfied. I only use olive oil, sunflowerseed oil and coconut fat/oil, all healthy and twice a week, when I have my days off, I indulge on butter for breakfast – we’re supposed to eat a bit of “bad fats” too 😉 sure helped me out!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Scott Marckx says:

    Thanks Doug for the update on Michael. You all are still in my prayers.
    I don’t know what I would do if that tasty stuff was in front of me. (Actually I do, and it wouldn’t help me lose weight!) One of our strategies is keeping it out of the house in the first place. Right now both my wife and I are working on living a more healthy lifestyle. Exercise and eating right. Lots of vegetables! It has been incremental for months. That is to be expected. It’s not a diet, just trying to change habits. Something just changed that though and I lost 5 lbs in the last week. Not sure if it is stress (stuff going on right now) or the new breathing exercises I started for running stuff. The breathing book “The Oxygen Advantage” said weight loss was a by-product of doing the exercises (mostly learning to nose breathe and practicing breathing lightly, but with your diaphram, to retrain your body to tolerate a slightly higher carbon dioxide content in your lungs, which actually helps the transfer of oxygen from your blood to your muscles.) Patrick McKeown, the author, gives several theories on why this has consistently happened with people he’s worked with, but I didn’t start the exercises for weight loss, more for running stuff. It is an interesting book and helpful. Most likely the weight loss is from a combination of things.
    I’m looking forward to your secret! I need all the help I can get especially with all the feasts coming up!
    All the best,
    Scott

    Liked by 1 person

    • scott – thank you for the prayers.
      i agree it the success is probably due to the combination of things, good work!
      I too am challenged by thanksgiving and Christmas ( pumpkin pie) but so my secret seems to be working. watch for it.
      thank you for your contributions
      doug

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.