Victim or Master? —- ADD Tip o the Day 327

Are you a victim of ADD or ADHD?  Or are you a master of it?   I think a lot depends on your attitude, and it is a feedback loop.  The more you see yourself as a victim, the less likely that you will do the things that will make you a master:

1. acknowledge and embrace the fact that you have this problem

2. educate yourself and learn all you can about it; become an expert

3. identify specific problems and develop strategies to deal with them

4. find out what kind of help you need and get it – medication, coaching, therapy, a friend or partner on your team

5. build the foundation – structure, scheduling, sleep, exercise, outdoors

5. build and maintain a positive attitude – the feedback loop, the more positive you are the more you will do those things and become a master and become more positive.

Here is bryan hutchinson’s great post on this – don’t miss this one.  clik here

doug 

on perception and attitude clik here

educate yourself   clik here

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote four ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. I also published a novel, Alma Means Soul. The books are available at amazon.com (soft cover or E book), or smashwords.com (only E books). The prices are as low as they are allowed to be. Managing Your ADHD Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year.
This entry was posted in add and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Victim or Master? —- ADD Tip o the Day 327

  1. The gift of ADD-creativity. I try to look at it from that perspective. I’m happiest when I can be creative in my own crazy brained fashion. I was diagnosed at age 28. I’ve done a lot of reading in the past ten years, and have found lots of strategies that help me cope with the little things, anyway. Like leaving my car keys on top of something I need to remember in the fridge. 🙂 I get a lot of strange responses when I do that. Now, on to figuring out the big picture…

    Like

    • good for you on the strategies. the point is that they work for you and make your life better. I’m not sure what you mean by the big picture – it may a lot of small specific problems and you need more strategies? For example, i cant really control my blurting out but i can stop telling jokes at parties that are inappropriate.
      thank you for commenting

      Like

  2. good comment! so much depends on our perspective, and we do have some freedom and options in how we define or label something
    thank you for commenting
    doug

    Like

  3. Scott Marckx says:

    Thank you for this! Your overview of things to work with is really helpful. I had sort of forgotten about “structure” and it was a good reminder. Another thing that sometimes works for me when I’m feeling overwhelmed is to treat it as if I’m “playing” with the solutions, instead of working on/with them. For instance, on structure, adding structure to my life might seem like a lot of work or even like imprisoning myself, but “playing with structure” means I get to experiment and see what works in a more light hearted way. The end result might be very similar, but the perspective changes the whole thing.
    Thanks again!
    Scott

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.