Time, Pressure, Urgency, Impatience and ADD ADHD — ADD Tip o the Day 516

Urgency!

1. I did the hard work – reviewed the records, made notes, and then dictated the report and edited it. It’s ready to go, except there’s two documents I’m missing. I don’t think they’ll make any difference, but I don’t have them.

Still, even though there’s no deadline, I’m fighting the urge to submit the report, the incomplete report, right now.

2. I’m working pretty hard on the book, plugging away, making progress, but still feel this pressure to hurry up and get it done. Why? There’s no deadline. Nobody is going to get this published ahead of me.  What’s the hurry?

Questions:

Do I just want to get things done, so I can cross them off and they’re not hanging over my head?

Do I want the reward, the satisfaction of completing something?

Am I simply impatient?

Is this the opposite of procrastination??????

Your ideas?

doug 

bonus link:

change your password- brilliant!             

ADD,ADHD,adult add, adult ADHD,attention, deficit, time,add and time,ADHD and time

Relax! Slow and easy.

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote four ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. I also published a novel, Alma Means Soul. The books are available at amazon.com (soft cover or E book), or smashwords.com (only E books). The prices are as low as they are allowed to be. Managing Your ADHD Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADHD problems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Time, Pressure, Urgency, Impatience and ADD ADHD — ADD Tip o the Day 516

  1. newnoz says:

    Or is it perfectionism? The choices are vast for what it is. Can you just sit with the thing? Then you can let your subconscious do the heavy lifting. Or not.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: An ADHD Melange | ADDadultstrategies

  3. Pingback: Decrease the Pressure – ADHD Tip O the Day 999 | ADDadultstrategies

  4. Anonymous says:

    When working solo, it is more difficult to set realistic expectations, so as an antidote to the fear of inertia one gets very demanding of oneself. One needs an outsider, a friend
    , an editor, or just someone to talk to. Unless one is actually writing a similar book, it is hard to set realistic expectations. If one is making some headway regularly, i.e. Daily or every other day, maybe that is as much as one can expect. One is often ones best critic. On some days, just “piddling” will suffice because the breathing time may be the recharge that gets things done. I fail to see how lacerating oneself is a benefit.

    Like

    • marina-I certainly agree on the lack of benefit of self lacerating, it just demoralizes and makes everything worse.
      Maybe I can find an editor to help me as I go instead of waiting for the end, good suggestion.
      Thank you for commenting. keep em coming
      Doug

      Like

  5. Gail B says:

    Sometimes I want to submit a project when I still have time to work on it so I won’t forget to submit the info. If I have too many projects underway, I can forget to push the Send button.

    Like

  6. homemakersdaily says:

    If it’s not done and submitted, it’s hanging over your head. It’s still on your to-do list and thus in your mind. When I have something like that, the only way I can get it out of my head is to break it down into smaller steps and write those steps down. Then, even though I’m not finished, I only have to focus on one step at a time and it doesn’t feel like it’s hanging over my head.

    But that’s just me. It could also be fear you’ll forget it or get distracted and not finish or even forget to turn it in. But once it’s turned in, you can let it go. It’s kind of like while it’s in process you’re holding your breath but once you submit it, you can breath again. Does that make sense?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.