ADHD Author??? Getting It Done— ADHD Tip O the Day 825

When I published the second ADHD book, the 365 tips of the day, it was only as an e-book. This was partly because each page had wonderful links to other good site. However, with time, many of those links are no longer operable. That certainly detracts from the book. Besides, I’ve wanted to have a print edition as well. So I’m re-doing it. I’ve finished the first total review, I’ve done editing and identified the pages that are weak. I’ve deleted all the links. My next review will insert better tips for the weak pages.  Then I’ll do a third review, editing everything again. Hopefully, that will be enough.

Tip number one: organize. Break the project into parts, don’t think of it as the whole or try to do it all at once.

Tip number two: remember, nothing is permanent, everything changes. For example, do not buy stocks in a buggy whip company.

The book is meant to be read one page a day, for 365 days. But, I have more good tips than that and so I am adding extras.

Tip number three: do not accept unnecessary limitations.

Just before this, I finally finished my autobiography. Many, many drafts. But I ran out of gas and I just quit and published it. The point is, it’s  really only for my descendants, not to make sales. Therefore, the many errors that remain don’t matter much. And it’s finally published and not hanging over my head anymore.

Tip number four: Sometimes, good enough is good enough.

My fourth book, The Bully, I also got fed up with and published before it was ready. It needed another draft, or two, or three. But I was tired of it. I may go back and revise it, some day. Or not. But it was for the general public, to educate people about bullies. And so that may be worth doing.

Tip number five: Sometimes, you do need to push for improvement, although never for perfection.

Tip number six: Even with ADHD, it is possible to be an author. It’s just not very easy.

Doug

Bonus Tip O the Day:

It’s hard to get myself to write these posts when I’m on vacation, but I do try to keep up. It’s easier if I dictate them into my phone and email them to myself. I’m able to fool myself into feeling that it’s not as much work.

ADHD, @dougmkpdp, #adhd

Sometimes it feels like this.

 

 

ADHD,@adhd,@dougmkpdp,#adhd

I thought I couldn’t get any pictures off my lap top

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote four ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. I also published a novel, Alma Means Soul. The books are available at amazon.com (soft cover or E book), or smashwords.com (only E books). The prices are as low as they are allowed to be. Managing Your ADHD Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year.
This entry was posted in add, adhd, ADHD strategies, organize, procrastination and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ADHD Author??? Getting It Done— ADHD Tip O the Day 825

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi, Doug.
    Your thoughts about the reviewing of books reminds me of the tips on one of my favourite authors (Stephen King) from his book “On writing”. You should do two drafts of the book before you show it to anyone. The first draft, you write as if you would never show it to anyone. The second draft, you write as someone you love would be looking over your shoulder. I’m not into writing, but I found his tips on writing books pretty swell. 🙂

    Like

  2. Anna says:

    Maybe you could consider hiring someone to review your books after you’ve become fed up with them, so you can have some work off your hands while still delivering a well-finished product 🙂
    I often get to the point where I’ve worked so much on something that I can barely stand to look at it. I have a hard time submitting my work to other people’s eyes, but I think it’d benefit from it (we all need external feedback sometimes) so I’m trying to work on it.
    So we could say… Tip 7: when the task has gotten you tired, consider getting help!

    Like

    • Anna
      I do get beta reviewer before I publish, but not so many on the uatobiography. Still, your suggestion is apt. When I run out of gas, that could be a good time to pause and get one more review. Then I might be able to restart after a while.

      thank you for commenting
      doug

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.