My Wife Complains – – – ADD Tip O the Day 530

My wife told me this morning that I’m very difficult to  live with.      I have no reason to doubt her.  She’s  unhappy because I got lost walking in the neighborhood the other day and she was concerned about me.

I explained to her that I was totally safe. I had my cell phone.  If I’d been willing to stop walking I could’ve found my location and a map on my phone, or I could’ve called her.                                         Or even called 911.

I wasn’t willing to stop walking;  that would’ve defeated the purpose and seemed weak.

But getting lost was actually a blessing because I went twice as far as my goal!

My wife says I’m stubborn.

Can you believe that?

Doug

 

RIP

Robin Williams, 63, fellow ADDer

Bonus Note o the Day

With ADD ADHD we tend to substance abuse, with a higher percentage than vanillas.     Our drugs of choice tend to be uppers  –  cocaine, amphetamines. Studies show that we do not tend to abuse our medications if we truly have ADD ADHD and that while addiction can occur, it is rare.

There is a problem with college students misusing the stimulants.

Extra note

The above are my opinions, based on studies I’ve read about. If someone can offer citations and references, I will be happy to  publish them, even if they disagree with me. Thank you.

Brighten up!
Brighten up!

 Bonus link

Melissa Orlov’s new book on ADD ADHD and marriage

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote four ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. I also published a novel, Alma Means Soul. The books are available at amazon.com (soft cover or E book), or smashwords.com (only E books). The prices are as low as they are allowed to be. Managing Your ADHD Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions, marriage, relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Wife Complains – – – ADD Tip O the Day 530

  1. Pingback: Cognitive Maps in ADD ADHD – – – ADD Tip O the Day 551 | ADDadultstrategies

  2. Stubborn? I don’t believe it. Not stopping makes sense to me. I guess we ADDers just think differently than the rest of the folks. I’m ok with that.

    P.S. But that doesn’t mean we’re easy to live with. Oh, well. We make life interesting.

    Liked by 2 people

    • homey – there’s no argument that we think differently! and I’m gonna keep doing it too, you can’t make me change (ie stubborn). And yes, life is certainly interesting. I wouldn’t mind just a little less interest.
      Thanks for the comment.
      Doug

      Like

  3. Try and imagine my comment. mjk

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.