Personal Notes on Living with ADHD

Getting my ADHD diagnosed at age 64 is one of the best things that ever happened to me.  Suddenly so much of my life made sense. And I could learn about ADHD and develop strategies and start medication.  I could make my life better.                 What a difference!

Some days the glass is not half full. It’s not half empty either. It’s 9/10 empty. And it’s gonna get knocked off the table. And it’ll be broken glass all over the floor. And you’ll step on it and cut your foot. You’ll have to go to the emergency room and you’ll have to wait six hours. And they’ll sew it up wrong and you’ll forever have a big knot on your foot and it’ll be very hard to walk.

So just forget the damn glass.

Yes, I’ve made a lot of mistakes. And I’ve done some bad things. But when I step back and look at my life, I was damn good, especially when I think of what I had to work with. Damn good. It is of no benefit to ruminate about the errors of the past.

 My bucket list. Three things:


1. Solo an airplane. Check.
 2. Publish a novel. Check
 3. Run a marathon. As time goes by, the chance of accomplishing this one seems increasingly unlikely.


Two out of three ain’t bad.

I’m still trying to get reviews for the latest ADHD book, Managing Your ADHD.

“You can’t get reviews if you don’t sell books, and you can’t sell books if you don’t have reviews.”

 I think this is my last book; I like writing but the rest is just too much trouble.

Tips O the Day:

  1. Don’t write a book unless you have to.
  2. Don’t ruminate or brood over the past. Count your blessings and give yourself credit.
  3. Spend some time out of doors relaxing.

Best wishes

doug

#ADHD #adultADHD

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote four ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. I also published a novel, Alma Means Soul. The books are available at amazon.com (soft cover or E book), or smashwords.com (only E books). The prices are as low as they are allowed to be. Managing Your ADHD Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Personal Notes on Living with ADHD

  1. Ken Powell says:

    As a matter of interest Doug, have you ever been tested to see if you’re autistic?

    Liked by 1 person

    • ken
      no, i haven’t been tested for autism. why do you ask? my wife has mentioned that possibility a few times, but i never took it seriously. i don’t see those symptoms, just ADHD. but then it is very hard for us to see ourselves so your question is very interesting,
      thanks for commenting and bringing this up
      best wishes
      doug

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ken Powell says:

        Well, just the way you describing some of your symptoms of ADHD had me thinking they are bordering into mild autism. I say this from personal experience of firstly diagnosing our son with ADHD for which he still takes medication (he’s 20 and was diagnosed when he was about 6-7); but then it became apparent that some things were just ‘more’ than ADHD. He was diagnosed as autistic several years ago. As time has gone on, it has become more obvious that he’s autistic even though he’s very high functioning (got all his school qualifications, just completed first year as a mechanic and so on). ADHD and Autism are on the same neurodivergent spectrum so often easy for one to mask the other especially when you have both. Just an idea I wondered if you’d pursued or rejected?

        Liked by 1 person

        • ken
          thanks for your explanation. ill have to think about this for a while. i can think of a few things that maybe could fit a little but while they are real they are so mild i never would’ve thought of autism and i have a lot of things that seem to go against that diagnosis. I’ll need to consider some more.
          thanks as always for commenting
          best wishes
          doug

          Liked by 1 person

  2. holdthatthought says:

    Doug,

    i know i haven’t been around much lately but i just happened to check my email this morning when i saw that you published a new blog post and just read this. you published a new book! man, i’m so proud of you. i’m buying a copy right now and am excited for the weekend read

    hope you’re doing well

    Liked by 1 person

    • holdthatthought says:

      p.s. if you’re still having trouble making pictures square boy has it gotten easier since we last spoke about it. let me know

      Liked by 1 person

    • thank you for the kind offer. it’s not an issue right now but i’ll keep it in mind
      best wishes
      doug
      .

      Like

    • hold
      it’s been a while for both of us and I’m very embarrassed that i don’t remember your name. That’s happening frequently lately since post covid .thank you for supporting the book. if you’d put a review on amazon that would be awsome.
      yes, i am doing very well excpet for the covid thing. thanks. hope you are too.
      best wishes
      doug

      Like

  3. tbwsalinas says:

    Doug, my judgment regarding your Parable of the Glass – “Eat your heart out, Jesus.” You put that and what followed in a way that is making a big difference in my life.Tom W.

    Sent from the all new AOL app for iOS

    Like

  4. Lola says:

    Great post; thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.