Beliefs, Where Do They Come From? — ADD Tip o the Day 487

According to research, we all do this, ADD ADHD or not:

Most of our beliefs come from our emotional responses; we then dig up data to support them.

If we come across information that refutes or doesn’t support our belief, we either don’t notice it or we refute it, often attacking the messenger.

I believe that the Bible is frequently misused this way. People choose their belief, then they go find a verse to support it, often by distorting the meaning and/or taking it out of context.  They ignore all the other verses that go against their belief.  Then they sincerely believe that their belief is based on the Bible.

If someone argues against our belief, we dig up everything we can to defend it and in the process, our belief becomes more firmly held.

We often confuse our beliefs with fact.

Tip of the Day:  Question your beliefs.  Examine what you have based them on.

Bonus Tip o the Day: It can be useful to discuss beliefs with someone to understand where they’re coming from; it is usually useless to argue with someone if you’re hoping to change their mind.

 

Quote o the Day:   “A mind made up is a mind made up.”

(I made that up myself, so is it really a quote?)

Bonus Quote o the Day“I’m not arguing with you; I’m just trying to help you understand why I’m right.”

Bonus links:  

Free treatment information from Melissa Orlov

Advice from Tom- avoid commitments, they only lead to grief

Bonus bonus tip: I never promise to do anything; I say, “I’ll try.”

Series on Science or Hash?     

doug            

ADD, ADHD,adult ADD,adult ADHD,attention,deficit,controversy,exist,argument

Minds can be like that- set in stone.

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, adhd, attitudes, controversies, educate yourself, science and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beliefs, Where Do They Come From? — ADD Tip o the Day 487

  1. Pingback: Another Bonus Quote! | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

  2. homey – i dont think any of us do it on purpose, and i dont think we know when we are doing it. Then when i see someone else doing it, it makes me nervous about my beliefs – what if i am doing it too? Or more accurately, what am i doing it about?
    as always, thank you so much for your good comments
    best wishes
    doug

    Like

  3. homemakersdaily says:

    Well said. People are notorious for deciding what they believe and then finding support for it. But it doesn’t work that way. You can sincerely believe something and still be wrong.

    I do it occasionally but not on purpose. I don’t want to believe something because I want it to be true. I want to believe the TRUTH..

    This is so true and happens ALL the time: “I believe that the Bible is frequently misused this way. People choose their belief, then they go find a verse to support it, often by distorting the meaning and/or taking it out of context. They ignore all the other verses that go against their belief. Then they sincerely believe that their belief is based on the Bible.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

