Vacation! and ADHD. Vacation? — ADHD Tip o the Day 794

Have been on vacation a week now.  It’s wonderful!  But-

I had two goals for this vacation:

  1. To relax.  It’s about time,
  2. To get some things done, get caught up.

Unfortunately, the two goals are incompatible.  And guess what?  I’ve been busy, busy, busy.  Just like at home.  Lots of enjoyment, but no relaxation at all.  Until this morning.

I’ve had things to do:  blogs to write, papers to sort, folders to organize; medications, diagnostic criteria, lab values to learn; books to read.  And songs to polish, calls to make, passwords to update and organize, fotos to take, Japanese beetles to eliminate.  Exercise (gained 10 pounds on last vacation.) And not least of all, fish to catch.  Yes!

And I bought a used guitar, good one, but turns out it’s not playable.  I need to repair it – the action is way too high.  So needed to research on the net how to do that.  Hoping I can manage and not ruin it.

And besides, need to remind myself, this is not just MY vacation.  Martha has places to go and things to see.  So that takes time, too.  And even here, there’s still only 24 hours in the day.

We went to see Christina’s house in Cushing, after seeing an Andrew Wyeth exhibit in Rockland.  It was amazingly impressive and powerful; very glad I went.

Still, busy, busy, busy.

But this morning, I caught myself.  Got a cup of coffee and went out on the deck and just sat.  Well, mostly.  Did take a few fotos, but mostly just sat.  A very good ADHD tool which I haven’t been practicing for quite a while. I need to get back to it.

Strategies:

  1.  Sit every day.
  2. Prioritize my to do list, underline the essentials, and have a goal of one a day.
  3. Use breathing techniques.

Need to be careful about my other goal, which is to catch more fish.  

Want to unhook from the busy,the  pressure, the ever turning internal flywheel.  Isn’t that what vacations are really for?  And also for getting a better perspective.

doug

Fantastic People O the Day:  Martha, Lucy, Jim, Katie, Will.  (wife, hosts – daughter and son in law, extremely generous and hospitable;  granddaughter and grandson in law)

Question O the Day:

Did anyone notice the little pun up above?  Anyone?

Link O the Day:

Christina’s World

Quote O the Day:

‘And you think you got troubles.’  related to Christina (progressive neuro muscular disease)

#ADHD @dougmkpdp
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, attitudes, dysfunctions, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

