Is My ADHD Messing With Me Again, Or Is It Something Else? —Tip O the Day 783

Is it ADHD or Human Nature?

Puryear’s Principle of Human Nature #2:

Once we find something that helps us  cope with a problem, we will quit doing it.

And this does apply to me.  Oh, my.

The Index Card System for ADHD

I was doing great with my index card system, but gradually I let it slip.  I started putting every new task, or even ideas or phone numbers, on the red to do card, which is supposed to only have 5 things on it – the list of 5.  It was easiest to just pull out the red card, write on it and move on.  Bad.

A New ADHD Strategy

Once I realized this  wasn’t going well, I changed,  But I didn’t go back to the old way, using the yellow index card for new things and then putting them onto the red card or others as appropriate.

Instead, now I use a yellow sticky note on the inside cover of my appointment book.  It is much easier to pull  out the big appointment book than to search for the yellow card among all the other cards in my pocket.  And it’s easier to change the sticky for a new one than it was with the yellow card.

How ADHD Works

With ADHD, we get bored easily and  our focus center gets turned on by novel things.  So maybe after we’ve done something for a while, we need to change it.  Even if it has become a habit, although I hope that’s not true.   So maybe it’s ADHD, or maybe it’s just Puryear’s principle number two.

More on this next time.  Or soon.  Maybe.

doug

ADHD Questions O the Day:

Can you contribute an example of this phenomenon?

How could you use this ADHD strategy with technology instead of index cards or stickys?

Irrelevant ADHD Comments O the Day:

Just for fun, I put ADHD into each heading. More instances of ADHD in a post are supposed to make it come up earlier on google if someone googles ADHD.  Who knows?

I don’t really know if today’s principle is  principle number two or one or three.  With my ADHD I can’t keep the numbers straight.

#ADHD @dougmkp #adultADHDstrategies

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

