” I Don’t Need Any Medicine!” — ADHD Tip O the Day 772

Learning More About My ADHD The Hard Way

Had a wonderful vacation.  Was amazed to find I didn’t need my Daytrana patch at all, did just fine without it.  Lying on the beach, eating and drinking, and even reading and taking notes.  And did I mention eating and drinking?

 No problem.

An Experiment

Decided when I got home to try going without it except for the days I work.  Maybe I didn’t really need it the other days.

Wrong!

I put on my patch and went back to work the first day back.  Everything went fine.  I was off the next day, no patch.  Lots of catching up to do.

Couldn’t get started, no traction, piddled around all day, minimal accomplishment, if any.

Couldn’t even think of the strategies I know how to use for these times, and it never occurred to me to just put on the patch later. 

A wasted day.

Bummer!

Strategy:

Wear the patch every day.  Makes a big difference.

Was the experiment a failure?  Not at all.  I found out that I need to wear the patch, except maybe not on vacation.  Maybe.

doug

 Bonus Links:

ADHD Medications?

Am I A Guinea Pig?

Piddling With ADHD

We Are All Similar and All Different

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,alternative substances,natural substances,medicines,medication,ADHD drugs,drugs,Ritalin,concerta,adderal,amphetamine,amphetamines,daytrana,ADHD controversy,ADHD controversies,stimulants,methylphenidate,atomoxetine,strattera,vyvanse,concerta

Paperwork?

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,goals,strategies

One of my ADHD problems.

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,alternative substances,natural substances,medicines,medication,ADHD drugs,drugs,Ritalin,concerta,adderal,amphetamine,amphetamines,daytrana,ADHD controversy,ADHD controversies,stimulants,methylphenidate,atomoxetine,strattera,vyvanse,concerta,add,adhd,adult add, adult adhd,attention,deficit,procrastination, procrastinating

Procrastination Flowchart

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,alternative substances,natural substances,medicines,medication,ADHD drugs,drugs,Ritalin,concerta,adderal,amphetamine,amphetamines,daytrana,ADHD controversy,ADHD controversies,stimulants,methylphenidate,atomoxetine,strattera,vyvanse,concerta

How shall I spend my time?

@addstrategies #adhd #add @dougmkpdp
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions, medication, medication, medicine, medicine, procrastination, stimulants, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to ” I Don’t Need Any Medicine!” — ADHD Tip O the Day 772

  1. Chris Smith says:

    Dear rammkatze- Sorry you interpreted that as an attack like I did with your mention of thalidomide. I was only trying to emphasize that among all the great technological advances there have been some serious mistakes and I am urging a great deal of caution in introducing any new chemicals into the environment, particularly drugs. The isomer you mention is not a unique situation. One of the attempts to avoid side effects of the basic amphetamine molecule was to isolate the dextro version. The optical isomer in that case was dextroamphetamine. I think that may have been substantially abused also. Please do look up the structures of the other molecules you mention and compare them to decongestants, SSRI drugs, dopamine, epinephrine and even tricyclic anti-depressants. You may note that they are aromatic substituted aliphatic amines. And despite the intended uses of many of the drugs, initial research started with decongestant goals.

    Liked by 1 person

    • chris and ram – enjoy you all having a level discussion even if it is way over my head. maybe someday i’ll blog about my sad experience with organic chemistry. you guys are way ahead of me.
      thanks for adding class to the blog
      doug

      Like

  2. holdthatthought says:

    you know, it’s funny. some days I need to take my Ritalin to remember to take Ritalin when I’m not working

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Chris Smith says:

    Dr. Doug, I see you are a physician. Please take a minute to recall some chemical structures you might have studied in organic chemistry class. The drug you are taking is a modified version of the simple amphetamine (Adderall) molecule. This and many others have the phenethylamine structure but with various simple and many times complex side groups. Please also look up dopamine and epinephrine (adrenaline). Then take a look at a few decongestants like sudafed, phenylpropanolamine and phenylephrine. You will see they all have similar structures at their core. I know about this because my dad was the patent attorney working with the chemists trying to modify the basic amphetamine structure. It apparently was a great decongestant but had a side effect of severe insomnia. Later it was abused by truck drivers trying to stay awake. I thought about this connection of decongestants and drugs used for ADD/ADHD since I heard that many ADHD patients have allergies and food sensitivities and some also have a degree of autism. I also noted that many can play exciting video games that might be altering the dopamine and adrenaline levels. Coupling that with the overwhelming anecdotal evidence that some autistic and ADHD patients improve with elimination of some commonly eaten foods and I wonder if there is a connection worth a well designed study beyond a simple GFCF approach that may not catch critical foods . That apparently has not been done since so many medical professionals discount any “allergy” that is not IgE mediated and there are no highly accepted tests for other food reactions that can affect the mind. Worth a new look maybe?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chris – first to be honest, I learned very little about anything in organic chemistry. so your comment is a little over my head – not unusual. i think you are suggesting some cases with ADHD or autism are due to food allergies, or other allergies?
      I don’t think there is overwhelming evidence of many people improving on diet, but as you say, some. I do think there are many causes of ADHD, and maybe more than two types of ADHD as well. so food could be a factor as well as many other substances. and genes are probably a basic cause in many if not most cases.
      how would a study be designed?
      thank you for commenting
      doug

      Liked by 1 person

      • Chris Smith says:

        Thanks for your reply. Here is what I am getting at: I thought I would search for what is out there for autism treatment to see if it has improved in the last few years. Looks like it still is tough for most kids to get much better with quite a variety of the “accepted treatments”. But if you then add the word allergy or food in a google search you get loads of controversial information but none really definitive enough to get into the major medical journals probably. I think that is because no really satisfactory studies have been done and if a gluten free or GF/CF diet failed to improve some children, it may have been misinterpreted to mean that diet changes can not be the answer. But you can find many claims, in fact whole books that indicate that at least some autistic and ADHD kids benefit greatly. I have seen complete cures in 2 out of the 2 cases I am familiar with but that surely is no scientific proof. Sorry the chemistry is complex but surely points to an area worth investigating. Earlier, I did not mention steroids like prednisone since they do not have that chemical structure but are very powerful anti-allergy, anti-inflammatory-medications (think areas of brain swelling as a very simplified explanation). Unfortunately they can not be safely used long term. But I read about a few short term tests where the positive effect was pronounced and feel that this further supports but does not prove my point about food sensitivity being involved. However, there may be children and adults out there suffering needlessly since the likes of Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) actively discourages even allergic family parents from a simple and safe try at keeping a food diary and then a short term test that complete eliminates “favorite” and frequently eaten foods that should be suspect. This despite lots of reports that autistic children not only frequently have ADD/ADHD but many times are unusually picky eaters with very narrow diets, and frequent digestive system issues. CHOP admits their talk and play therapy has very limited utility but is happy to take your money anyway. I agree that there are likely multiple causes and that genetic component you mention- could it be an inherited propensity toward allergy/food sensitivity?

        Liked by 1 person

        • chris – probably the gene thing could be allergy related, but i suspect it is more directly related to brain stucture.
          would be great to have more research into all of this.
          thanks for explaining
          doug

          Like

    • rammkatze says:

      Theorizing about chemsistry is nice. But in theory, the thalidomide scandal would never have happened. After all, it was all about two very simmilar molecules.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ram- how was it about two similar molecues??
        thanks
        doug

        Liked by 1 person

        • rammkatze says:

          Thalidomide has a chiral counterpart which is what caused the birth defects “back in the day”. Chemcially speaking, they are totally identical. A single different chemical bond that makes them symmetrical makes the whole difference in the world. I found a link that roughly explains it:
          https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2016/10/161005114317.htm
          This one always stuck we me because the professors at college used it as an example when teaching about isomers and particularly chirality.

          (And also, we do know that crystal meth and Ritalin have some strong chemical and even structural simmilarities and very very different effects on us.)

          Like

      • Chris Smith says:

        Dear rammkatze: Unfortunate individuals have suffered from mistakes in pharmaceuticals and other medical mistakes. That should not stop the great work of the 99+ % of researchers who benefit mankind. But rather it should point toward the great caution that most of us take. If you do not agree, perhaps living in a cave is the best solution. The rest has all been made possible through advancements in science and technology some of which was theorizing initially.

        Like

        • rammkatze says:

          Dear Chris, out of respect for Doug, I won’t give you the answer I’d like. I will however point out that was not in the least personally attacking you and I’d appreciate if you kept personal attacks at to what you think my views are and where I should live to a minimum. I will leave the discussion between us to as it is.

          Like

Leave a Reply

