A New Approach to My ADHD — ADHD Tip O the Day 765

Manila folders are God’s gift to people with ADHD,  and yellow stickies may be his bonus gift.

I have used my index card system successfully for many years, and have written and written about it.

Quote O the Day:

“Whenever we struggle and struggle with a problem, and finally find a solution, the next thing we do is stop doing it.”

                 Puryear’s second principle of human behavior

I recently realized I wasn’t using the cards correctly anymore.  I kept pulling out the red card – habit? easier to find? something about red?- and writing all kinds of stuff on it, including my to do’s.  But the red card is only for the list of five to do’s. 

I tried to correct this.  Didn’t work. Kept doing it.

So I made a rule: Cant write anything directly on the red card, need to put it on a yellow card first and then transfer it to the appropriate place.

Didn’t work, kept pulling out the red card and making a mess of it.

My other essential tool is the appointment book, always with me.  So now I keep a long yellow sticky in the inside front cover, and everything goes there first.  Keep the red card for the 5 to do’s.

It’s working, pretty well anyway.  The appointment book is even easier to pull out than the red card. If I keep at it, it will become a habit.

I believe that for every problem, there is a solution (pretty much).

doug

Bonus Link:

Mindful sent the perfect cartoon.  Perfect!

Laments O the Day:

  1.  I have tried to develop the habit of checking each link before I post.  So far, little progress.
  2. I have tried, and tried, and tried to figure out how to get the pictures to fit right in facebook.  So far, less than little progress.  As you can see.

Extraneous Comment O the Day: Of course, you aren’t using cards and appointment books, are you? You’re using smart phones.  Smart.  But then, you’re not as technologically challenged as I am.  So, would these concepts still apply for you somehow?

@addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpdp

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD strategies, organize, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A New Approach to My ADHD — ADHD Tip O the Day 765

  1. Betsy Davenport says:

    For every problem there are many potential solutions. Try one; if it doesn’t work, try another. Novices at this are quick to feel they’ve failed, when in fact, it’s the strategy that isn’t useful.

    The ADHD brain needs strategies that are personalized, so the idea is to try things until you find the thing that works for you. In due time, people become able to discern quickly and often ahead of time that a strategy isn’t going to work. Fine; on to the next.

    Liked by 1 person

    • betsy
      great. each of us has to find what works for us, there is no generic strategy – except maybe the appointment book and the to do list – and even those need to be personalized
      thank you for commenting
      doug

      Like

  2. Scott Marckx says:

    Thanks Doug!
    I’ve gone to a big list that gets unmanageable, plus a list for the day that I try to do while writing in my journal the night before. It doesn’t always work great, but it has become my default. When I first tried to do the cards it seemed like I needed a set for work and a set for household/non-work. If I’m doing good, I select a most important thing while journaling the night before and commit to taking at least a small step toward it the following day, then write about how that went in the following journal entry. My biggest obstacle, besides procrastination, is the unpredictability of life working at home. Who will show up or call? What household emergency or temptation will occur? Habits would be so helpful, but it seems like the very landscape is always in flux… I’m trying to roll with it and keep coming back to some basic habits. But are they even habits when the best I can do is continually try to get back to them? Right now I have someone who comes by my shop maybe once a week. The days he is here I seem to get started earlier and get more work done, because I commit to being in the shop for him. Why can’t I commit to being in the shop alone, for the work?, for myself? I don’t know… It still happens, but it seems more accidental than something I can count on. My big rule is to keep gently coming back.

    Thanks again for your great blog!
    All the best,
    Scott

    Liked by 1 person

    • scott – the pick one the night before sounds like a great strategy. you may be trying to make too many habits at once? if you pick one or at most two at a time and keep coming back they probably will become habits. if not, you may need to make some modifacation in the strategy.
      thank you for commenting
      doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

