Non Medication Treatment for ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 762

How can you treat ADHD without medications?

(I will skip entirely the question, “Why in the world would you want to?”

For today, anyway.)

Some of us self medicate with caffeine.   Omega 3 fatty acids show some benefit.  Some people get some benefit from a very restrictive diet, most find its not worth the trouble.

There is some evidence supporting zinc, iron, vitamin C, magnesium – I suspect these may mostly be of some help when there is a deficiency

Other things that help improve ADHD symptoms:

Exercise, get out of doors, get adequate sleep, have a routine, get a coach.  Meditation with ADHD is almost an oxymoron, but doing just the little that you can will help, and you can improve at it with practice.

Medication, or alternative substances, or diets are not the answer to ADHD, they just can be of some help to some people.

doug

Links:

Extremely good and comprehensive treatise on ADHD and it’s treatment

Non medications approaches to ADHD

Quote O the Day (paraphrased):

‘ The purpose of the ADHD medication is to help you focus enough that you can use strategies.’

Dr. Goodwin  (I can’t find out which Dr. Goodwin, but he is an ADHD expert.)

One approach to non medical alternatives to ADHD:

Here’s what a relative takes at least once daily for his ADHD.  He swears that it helps a lot, and I have no reason to doubt him.  I don’t see obvious signs of ADHD in him and he is a highly effective person.

Question O the Day:

What other things do you find helpful?

 

Anticipation O the Day (including bonus strategy):

Planning to have more on this topic next time.  Hopefully. I have noticed that I don’t always do what I planned to.  I do pretty much do what I have promised to, though, because I have a good strategy for that – I never promise anything.

 

@addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpdp
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Non Medication Treatment for ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 762

  1. Scott Marckx says:

    Hi Doug,
    I love your promise strategy “I never promise anything”! I have a similar one, I always try to start with ” no.” I realized that is the safest response, because I can almost always go back and say yes later without hurting too many feelings, but it is much more difficult and potentially hurtful to others to say no after having said yes to start with.
    I am a firm believer in trying all of the health promoting solutions to dealing with ADHD first, before medication. A healthy diet, exercise, meditation, and healthy habits and strategies are such a good base. Personally, my own ADD diagnosis finally gave me the reason to act on a lot of those things that I had been putting off for years. I actually feel way more healthy now, at 50, than I did when I turned 40. I do understand that for some people, having ADHD keeps them from being able to implement healthy changes and that the right medication can help them get started on a health promoting path. I get very nervous though about the attitude that the medication is a long term dependable solution that allows one to not worry about the need for other basic healthy habits.

    All the best, Scott

    Liked by 1 person

    • scott – i totally agree with you on the need for those healthy things. however, the ADHD meds are not instead of, but are in addition to. I never meant to suggest to take the meds and do nothing else. And some people do fine without the meds, and they dont work for everyone, but for some they are a miracle.
      you are right on the point that for some the meds are necessary to enable them to do the other stuff.
      as always, thank you for contributing your comments
      doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

