I Whipped My ADHD Procrastination -for the moment. —ADHD Tip O the Day 756

With my ADHD I wasn’t doing what I need to do.

On my to-do list, for a very long time, was “car and tires”.

I needed to get my car to the mechanic for an oil change, and to the tire store to get the tires rotated.  I knew it was necessary, that it could save me a lot of trouble later on, that it was the adult responsible thing to do.  

But I wasn’t doing it.

Well, first, the first step was to call and make the appointments.  Even I could see that.   But I wasn’t.  This stayed on my mind, hung over my head, was unpleasant and uncomfortable.

But I didn’t do it.

I think if there had been a deadline it would’ve helped, because that’s one of things that gets us with ADHD to move, but there wasn’t.  

And I didn’t.

Suddenly, I had an insight.  Have I mentioned the ADHD strategy of small steps before?  Well, I wasn’t using it.  

I didn’t need to get the car and the tires done.  I needed to get the car done.  And then I needed to get the tires done.  I needed to change my to-do list from “car and tires” to “car”,  “tires.”

As soon as I realized this, I called and made the car appointment.  After a few days of procrastinating, I called and made the tire appointment.

Strategies:

  1. Small steps
  2.  Practice what you preach

doug

Personal Question O the Day:

Do you ever find yourself procrastinating?

Bonus Links O the Day:

Good procrastination links

Some strategies for ADHD procrastination

Explanation O the Day:

My wife gave me the gift of the round tuit.    So I can’t say anymore, “When I get a round tuit.” Because  now I’ve got one.

 

@addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpdp
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions, procrastination, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Whipped My ADHD Procrastination -for the moment. —ADHD Tip O the Day 756

  1. Scott Marckx says:

    Congratulations Doug!
    Sometimes I have to shrink it to “look up the phone number of the car place”. I”ve got things on my to do list that have been there for ages. I’m not so good at throwing away stuff, getting rid of stuff, or organizing stuff. Sometimes though, in a fit of laziness, they don’t make it to the next incarnation of the list, so get off the list in that way…
    Your list of 5 things idea has been very helpful for me over the years. Often things on the short list actually get done! Sometimes I’ll write in things that are already fairly habitual like getting up, letting the ducks out for the day, and prayers, (although the getting up, at least by a certain time, needs serious work.). Having these things to check off on my to-do list for the day sometimes builds a little momentum toward getting something less normal, less habitual done.

    All the best,
    Scott

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

