Blessings of ADHD? — ADHD Tip O the Day 751

With our ADHD, we tend to be interested in many things.

This is one of the blessings of ADHD.

It is also one of the curses.

I am working a half time job, trying to keep up two blogs (and failing), working on a book, half working on another and have the 5th draft of another sitting on the back burner.  I am working on the guitar and Spanish.  I have been missing out on my quiet time and my exercise, two very important parts of my life.

I have written about this before.  Now I need to do something about it.

Vacation Time:

Note: One of Puryear’s Principles of human life – When we are stressed, the first thing we do is quit doing the things that help us deal with stress.

I am now on a three day vacation.  My goals, including spending time with my family and sampling various Tex Mex resturants, are to read two books, do at least two blog posts, read up on some medicines and their side effects, and write a handout on panic attacks.  I was also planning to download apps on my new notebook, but then I realized that it would cost me money because I would be roaming.

Do you think I can do this all in three days?  I don’t.  Plus, one of the apps that came preloaded is Freecell, so that’s another problem.

Overall:

I can’t- I don’t want to – continue like this.  I need to change it.  That means giving up some things.  But what?  I don’t want to give up anything.  Plus we ADHDers have trouble with setting priorities, which make it even tougher.

Plus I’m hoping that my loving wife doesn’t read this and decide to direct and remind and help me, which would only make it worse (hint, hint).

So OK, I have identified and acknowledged the problem.  Now it’s time to do something about it.

I’ll let you know.

doug

 

 

 

 

@adhd @add @addadultstrategies #ADHD #add #addadultstrategies @dougmkpdp
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions, organize, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blessings of ADHD? — ADHD Tip O the Day 751

  1. Scott Marckx says:

    Hi Doug,
    Pick one thing and that is your success for the whole vacation. Break it up into manageable increments if you need to. Now I need to do this! You have been so helpful to me over the years.
    Thank you!
    Scott

    Like

  2. lol – been there, tried to do that!

    We seem to have no idea of what might be a realistic expectation of what we can do in a day (or a weekend). 🙂 So what do we end up doing? NOTHING from the list at all, swinging from distraction to crisis.

    ADD to-do list for tomorrow: clean house . . . call brother . . . wash dog . . . go grocery shopping . . . learn Chinese. Oh, and by the way – plan for a Thanksgiving party to which no one has been invited – yet!

    Yep! That’s the ADD way. Life is never boring when we are in the mix.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Like

  3. Jeff says:

    Hang in there, Doug! I feel your pain. I advise you not to watch the news on TV, on the internet, etc. I learned this the hard way! It interferes with accomplishing our priorities… Jeff

    Liked by 2 people

  4. holdthatthought says:

    hang in there Doug

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

