Summer’s Over – For ADHD Students and Parents — ADHD Tip O the Day 738

With ADHD,  school can be a booger.

Actually, school was very easy for me – that is, the academic part.  Socially and behaviorally, not so much.  But the work was very easy, until I hit college.  It was like hitting a brick wall.  I didn’t know how to study, and I didn’t know that I didn’t know how to study.  So I just tried harder.  You know how well that works with ADHD.

I did not do well in college.  An understatement.

How to Study and Learn, Even with ADHD

I learned how to study in my second year of medical school.  It was a life changing revelation.  I did well in medical school, from then on.   These days, I think most schools teach kids how to study early on.  I hope so.

I go into what I learned about how to study in depth in the book.  These days, I think most schools teach kids how to study early on.  I hope so.

doug

What every student with ADHD should know    Welcome back to school!

 

What every student with ADHD should know    Welcome back to school!

Bonus Links

Studying and ADHD    The First of  a Series

Helping Concentration

Note On Podcast

I just did a podcast with Jennie Friedman, ADHD coach.  Check it out.

Thank you, Jennie.

 

 

 

@addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpdp

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD strategies, educate yourself, educate yourself, studying and learning and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer’s Over – For ADHD Students and Parents — ADHD Tip O the Day 738

  1. jeff – i do remember. i even remember before TV.
    thank you for commenting
    doug

    Like

  2. Jeff says:

    Hi Doug. I love your funnies! I see you have my autobiography: “Well, That Didn’t Work” – Subtitled “Back to the Drawing Board” HA!

    I think your strategies can be helpful to students with ADHD. I know they would have helped me decades ago when I was in school. Remember the days before the internet, when we had to obtain information at the library? Now you just look things up on the internet. And you get instantaneous information too! Way, way, much easier for students nowadays!

    Your podcast with Jennie was informative. Yes, using strategies, and taking small steps are key to successfully dealing with ADHD. Jeff

    Like

Leave a Reply

