ADHD is a good thing to have. Isn’t it????— ADD Tip O the Day 732

Does ADD ADHD rock or does it suck? A controversy!

This is from my gifted good buddy Ken (edited). My comments are in italics.

Why ADHD rocks – surprising view of a freelancing expat

By Ken Powell – http://writeoutloudblog.com/
“… If you could give me a pill to take it away – I wouldn’t touch it! I love my ADHD and wouldn’t be without it.
I’m blessed that my particular form of ADHD didn’t need medication and is something known as ‘twice exceptional’ – in other words I’ve never struggled with behaviour or concentration or any of the other negative things we often associate with it. WOW!!???
My ADHD has enabled me to do MORE, learn more, love more and help more.
In fact, there’s good reason to suggest that ADHD has never been the problem at all – it’s society that has the issue.”

Ken goes on to suggest that society is the cause of ADD ADHD. He argues that if hyperactivity and hyperfocus gave our early ancestors an evolutionary advantage then the problem is that we are now expected to go to school. But wouldn’t that mean that our ancestors had ADD ADHD but it wasn’t a problem until school? So it wouldn’t be society that caused ADD ADHD, society just caused it to be a problem instead of the advantage it previously was.

…So really this condition was made by society changing. Girls can have ADHD too …but history seems to have made it so that most kids with ADHD are male. This is correct for ADHD but seems to minimize the problems that ADD inattentive type causes for girls.

There’s hundreds of attributes known to be typical of ADHD but no one has them all. To be diagnosed with ADHD you usually have to exhibit a significant number of these traits but not every one. Yes, except I would quibble about “usually”.

“Here I want to share just a few reasons why ADHD, when harnessed well, is brilliant and not debilitating. When harnessed well!!!!

My Top 9 Positive Points for ADHD

1. We have tons of energy – the trick is harnessing it! Exactly!

2. We’re enthusiastic – we’re free thinkers and our enthusiasm is infectious. Can be, but a lot of times we just piss other people off.

3. We’re generally pretty nice people
We’re warm, loving, kind and have a great love of humor. We’re sensitive and compassionate. And we’re great with kids! In fact we’re very family-minded, love to volunteer to help others and love making new friends. I believe that Ken is a nice person and has these traits. Sometimes I have some of them myself. Sometimes. Much less so when I’m stressed by the problems my ADD ADHD causes or when I’m hyperfocused.

I don’t have any data about us being nice in general.

… they make great babysitters. If we don’t drive off with the baby on top of the car or set the house afire or forget that we’re baby sitting or —.

4. We’re big-picture people.
We can see patterns in chaos, notice things more broadly and make connections easily. That does mean sometimes we see things differently, so differently you might wonder what planet we’re on, but on the whole we can give a fresh perspective on things. I agree we have that tendency.

5. We hyper-focus on the stuff we find interesting. Yes, and we can be very productive. But I don’t have much control over when or what I hyperfocus on or when I unhyperfocus, so it can be a problem.

6. We live in the ‘now’.
We’re impulsive and don’t live too much for the future. Well, I have a lot of concern about the future and try to plan ahead but I have a hard time telling when the future is. Something I need to prepare for that’s for next month seems like eons away. It will sneak up on me. That’s a problem.

…that makes us good company. Unless we’re being inappropriate and annoying and not doing what we’d said we’d do.

7. We need less sleep. I can get by on less sleep sometimes because I have insomnia but I don’t function as well. I have no data that we need less sleep, just that we get less sleep.

8. We’re speedy thinkers
We’ve learned to think on our feet and adapt well to change. … That makes us good to have around in a crisis or when a quick decision needs making. Sometimes a crisis triggers our hyperfocus and we do extemely well. Sometimes. I’m not sure it’s consistent.

9. We’re creative.

Brainstorming, thinking outside the box, creative solutions: That’s us! We do seem to do this. Yea, us!

doug

 

Question O the Day:

If I didn’t have ADD ADHD would I be able to figure out how to get WordPress to keep the formatting I put in instead of jumbling it all up together like this?

Second Question O the Day:

What do you think?  Is ADHD a blessing or a curse?

Links:

Ken’s original post

Gifts and Benefits of ADHD

Too much about the gifts

 

@addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpdp

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in ADD problems or symptoms, adhd, ADHD problems, attitudes, controversies, controversy, dysfunctions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ADHD is a good thing to have. Isn’t it????— ADD Tip O the Day 732

  1. Jeff says:

    Hi Doug. Is it possible your good buddy, Ken, doesn’t have ADHD? I would say most people with ADHD think it sucks! It does for me!! My life would have been much better without it! And as to those 9 positive points, I believe those points might describe Ken, but not everyone with ADHD. I have a few of those qualities, but some don’t describe me at all. Making an analogy to global warming: It might be good for some people (A/C manufacturers, for example), but it sucks for most people! (my electric bill is much higher than it used to be because I run the A/C more often, etc.) Can we just conclude that, with few exceptions, ADHD sucks? Jeff

    Like

    • jeff – Ken once made a comment about not having ADHD bad, or not having the usual kind – usual combination of symptoms. but i’m guessing he has it. there is a small group that focuses on the positives – like, losing my left leg made me more appreciative of my right? oh, thats not fair, we do have some of the positives, at least most of us do. maybe if we get the right strategies to handle the problems, then the positives will out weigh the problems. i’m not there yet.
      ADHD sucks? i can go along with that.
      thank you for commenting.

      Like

    • holdthatthought says:

      Hey Jeff, I agree with doug. I think it’s all about mindset.
      That really sucks about your a/c. Trust me, I know what you’re going through as I live in northern Florida myself and it’s just so hot and humid all the time. I think about how nice it must be to be living in Michigan or Canada during the summers where people can leave open the windows at night to sleep with the cool summer air blessing throughout their house.

      Now, I can choose to just focus on that–how much it sucks to live in Florida during the summer months when my utilities are sky high. Or I can change my mindset–that I’m actually blessed that I even have the option of turning on the A/C.

      A/C was invented in the very early in the 1900s, maybe 1902?
      It took decades before it was available in most commercial buildings, not to mention homes. If you had A/C in your home in 1920 you were living the Steve Jobs lifestyle. Imagine how frustrated he must have felt anytime he had to leave his house to go into town. If you were a billionaire at the time, you might of had a car. But that car didn’t have A/C. And everybody else rode horses, which meant wherever you went, all you could smell was horse poop. In the humid Florida summer.

      And for basically everybody else, these hot Florida summers were basically the status quo. Our desire to sit in an air-conditioned room was their desire to find a tree with a shade.

      It’s all about perspective, or your mindset. I think that Ken is choosing to focus on the positives instead of the negatives.

      ADHD does suck, but does that mean that we are forced to just think about it in that way all of the time?

      It takes a little bit of practice but it is a choice. Something tells me that maybe Ken is a little happier with his.

      Liked by 1 person

      • hold-
        i think i do focus on the negatives, because i need to in order to cope with them. but i dont think i do it with a negative attitude but a positive one.
        hope that makes sense
        thank you for contributing
        doug

        Like

Leave a Reply

