Overdoing with ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 723

Only One?   With ADHD?

I went to the library to pick up a book. We have a wonderful library.  It has a good selection,  they will hold books that are checked out, and they order on inter-library loan for books they don’t have.

They emailed me that one of my books on hold was ready. It was by one of my favorite authors, Annie Dillard, .  So I walked over to pick it up (I love being able to walk to the library. Getting out of doors is a good thing for ADHD.)

I got my held book and then wandered the stacks.  I love books.

I came home with my Dillard book, plus; a book on the brain; a book of poetry by Borges with the Spanish poem on one page and the English translation on the opposite; a book on anger by Thich Nhat Hanh; and Quantum Mechanics for Dummies, which looks very difficult (I told the librarian they need “Quantum Mechanics for Dummies” for Dummies.)

It was too much to carry by hand so the librarian  gave me a free cloth bag. That was very nice. Even though it was too heavy, I managed to get home with it all.

I went to the library to pick up a book.

When we ADHDers do something, we really do it. We really, really, really do it.

Know what I mean?

doug

Quote O the Day:

“Letting me loose in a library is like letting a kid loose in a candy store.

Letting me loose in a candy store is like letting a kid loose in a candy store.”

      doug

Bonus Quote O the Day:

“Too much is never enough.”

      Texas saying

Irrelevant Note O the Day:

My very favorite book is For the Time Being, by Annie Dillard.

Bonus Irrelevant Note O the Day:

My wife says I have a lot of very favorite books.

Final Irrelevant Note O the Day:

I can eat one piece of dark chocolate and stop. That is not true of anything else. Well, OK, it has to be very dark chocolate.

Bonus Links:

Too much with ADHD

Too many projects with ADHD

The Really, Truly Final Irrelevant Note O the Day:

I put too many things on this post. See what I’ve been talking about?

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies, tips,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,distractions

ADHD terminology

 

 

@addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpdp
add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies, tips,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,too much,excess,clutter,overdo,overdoing

With ADHD, get rid of too much stuff.

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in ADD problems or symptoms, adhd, dysfunctions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overdoing with ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 723

  1. Scott Marckx says:

    Hi Doug,
    I’m there! Both with the library books and with whatever I get into. I drive my wife crazy with whatever the latest obsession is. Our library has an on-line feature where you can make a list of books so you don’t forget them. Before they updated the system I had limited out on my list at 100 books. Now, with the updated system, I have my book lists in a bunch of different categories and have way over 100 books and audio books, etc. on my lists.

    Speaking of books, my latest read is a great book with a bad title “How Not To Die” by Dr. Michael Greger of http://www.nutritionfacts.org. It has all sorts of cool information about scientific studies of foods and health, and I even found some stuff that applies to ADHD and depression. He’s got lots of little mini-videos too on his web site and on youtube. It is an interesting place to get lost in…
    All the best,
    Scott

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

