Just Be? With ADHD? — Tip O the Day 712

With ADHD, we need to be DOING

My very wise sister suggested that I need to do more “being” and less “doing.”  She’s right.

That’s very hard for me to do. The internal flywheel keeps spinning. The to-do list keeps flashing in my head. The computer keeps calling. The clock keeps ticking.

Does anyone know what I’m talking about?

I have been able to  “just be” for hours a time when on vacation. And sometimes, sometimes, I can linger over a meal in a restaurant. And occasionally, if the weather is nice, I can sit outdoors for a while and “just be.”  Those are all wonderful times. But they do not come naturally to me.

Does anyone know what I’m talking about?

Doug

Alert O the Day:

I am trying address this in my quiet time.  That’s a post that’s coming.

Bonus ADHD Links O the Day:

How to get smarter

Sitting

Enough Time?

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies, tips,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,pressured,busy,to-do list,ADD ADHD a gift,add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,gifts,benefits,strategies,priorities,to do,to-do,overloaded,overload,overwhelmed,gift,benefit,time,list,lists

The to do list – it never ends

@addstrategies  #adhd  #add  @dougmkpdp
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, attitudes, dysfunctions, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just Be? With ADHD? — Tip O the Day 712

  1. rammkatze says:

    I’m not sure, Doug. Is sitting around daydreaming a Form oft “being”? My guess is ” no”. I do have spontaneous moments oft “mindfulness”, especially if the sunset is particularly beautiful or the clouds particularly threatening. But “being” comes hard to me too. I don’t have a long to-do list, but that’s probably vecause I procrastrinate doing even that 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Bully says:

      ram – yes, thats a form. good for you. the trick with the to do list is to make it very short – then its not intimidating. also to realize you probably wont get it all done today.
      also-
      ram – the way to read it is a little bit at a time. small steps. you could set a goal of one page a day, the first page will be the hardest. i think it could be helpful to you.
      then you could consider the far out possibility of translating it, we could make a deal.
      thanks for responding
      doug

      Like

  2. The Bully says:

    sierra – indeed the struggle is real! how old are your children? worry is not helpful, but if there is currently a problem, you could do something about it. instead of being vs doing, that’s worrying vs doing.
    thank you contributing.
    best wishes
    doug

    Like

  3. sierra529 says:

    I worry so much that my own inattentiveness has harmed my children, who also have attention problems. The struggle is real 😞

    Like

Leave a Reply

