ADHD and Computers – Helpful? or Diabolical Instruments?— ADD Tip O the Day 696

With ADD ADHD, maybe everything is a challenge?

On vacation, I’m using my laptop. I’m cheap, and it doesn’t have Word, but KingSoft, a great free program that will save documents in Word form.

But, oh my! It’s a booger. I’ m slowly getting used to using  it, but still, the cursor is never where I think it is, and the pages jump around, and it doesn’t save what I thought I saved and when it does save something, I can’t find it later.

And I haven’t even mentioned what it does with bold and underline and how it’s always changing fonts on me.

Plus this computer  has some kind of “helper” that keeps popping up for some reason and it’s never been helpful in any way.  

The innate perversity of inanimate matter!

So how much is the computer, how much the program, how much just that I don’t know how to use them, and how much is due to my ADHD?

Well, I think it’s due to the evil spirits that live inside every computer. Sometimes they disguise themselves as a virus, but they’re always lurking in there.  

Strategy

  1. Somehow find the patience to learn how to use the program before I try to use it. — Are you kidding? Patience?  Read the instructions?  Come on!
  2. Exorcism?- Are exorcists expensive? Might it damage the computer?
  3. And why did it put that 3 there when I didn’t want it and it won’t let me get rid of it?

doug – ADHDer, technologically challenged

If you are reading this, I somewhat got the better of it, for now.

doug                                                                                      

@addstrategies #adhd #add @dougmkpdp @thebullyonline #bully #bullying #thebullyonline,add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies, tips,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,computers,computer programs,Word,Kingsoft,technology,challenged.

With ADHD, it’s always a challenge.

Bonus Link:

from Dr. Barkley on the misuse of stimulant medicines

Note: 

To be perfectly honest, the problems I’m having with Kingsoft aren’t much different from those I have with Word and with WordPress (this program).  But doesn’t that just help make my point?

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, controversy, medication, medicine, stimulants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ADHD and Computers – Helpful? or Diabolical Instruments?— ADD Tip O the Day 696

  1. John says:

    Hey Doug … I am jumping in just to add my $.02 worth to the comments from holdthatthought. I agree that the jumping around etc. problems are probably due to the thumb on your right hand making incidental contact with the trackpad. It took me years of frustration to figure out that this is what was happening to me. That particular laptop had key where I could turn off the trackpad. So, during times when I was typing, I would just turn the track pad off. No problems. Well, correcting spelling errors while typing are a pain because now the ability to move the cursar around is also shut off. But, I did learn to correct typing and spelling errors after I was finished composing the document and that allowed me to edit the document at the same time. All in all, it was an improvement.

    Second, your Windows computer does have a feature where it allows you to set the time interval between “saves”. I can’t remember exactly where it is at the moment, but I remember that the interval could be as short as a minute or two. So, if you were to lose a document by accident, you could retrieve it up to the last save and thus really lose only the last minute or two of work. I have become a Mac convert and I apologize for not being able to remember where to find that feature on a Windows machine, but I am sure that it is there somewhere.

    Having said all that, while running an errand for a friend this past week I found myself in the BIG LOTS store. I purchased a blue tooth, 2AAA battery operated, laser mouse that is just a little bigger than a good sized chicken egg. The brand name is GE (General Electric). In addition to being small, and bluetooth (no cord), it has an automatic shut off to save the batteries and a storage compartment built in to store the USB dongle. Storing the dongle away shuts of the mouse completely. It works with any computer, Mac or Windows. It was $10, and the day I was there everything in the store was 20% off. So far, it is the best money have spent in a long time except for the pint of Guinness I had on the way home.

    I am new to your blog, but I am enjoying what I have seen so far. I have signed on so I’ll be out here in the bushes.

    J

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Tecolote Farm says:

    Hello Doug, I can relate to that bit about the passwords needing to be so complicated! Ugh! My iPhone account rejected at least 5 passwords I selected the other day, either because I had used them sometime in the last year, or because the ones I chose for myself were “weak, too easy to guess.” It was so bad that I chose a password which denigrated Apple! Hope you and Martha are well, Katie

    On Sat, Feb 27, 2016 at 11:06 AM, ADDadultstrategies wrote:

    > The Bully posted: “With ADD ADHD, maybe everything is a challenge? On > vacation, I’m using my laptop. I’m cheap, and it doesn’t have Word, but > KingSoft, a great free program that will save documents in Word form. But, > oh my! It’s a booger. I’ m slowly getting used to ” >

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Bully says:

      katie – yes. i saw a cartoon where the lady chose the password “inerror”, so when she forgot it and put something else in, the computer would say “your password is in error.”
      yes we are well, hope you all are too. had dinner with sandy et al the other nite. fun!
      thank you contributing a comment, please do more
      doug

      Like

  3. holdthatthought says:

    hey doug,

    i have a potential strategy/suggestion that could help:

    your issue with not knowing where your cursor is on the screen–as well as the pages jumping around–could probably be attributed to the laptop’s mousepad. there aren’t many laptops with good trackpads. most of them are pretty terrible actually. i remember having one that i thought was (coincidentally) possessed and was completely unpredictable (don’t miss those days).

    the strategy is to get a portable USB mouse. it will change you laptop-weilding life. if you search on Amazon for one, you will find many ranging from the $10-60 price range. they’re great, keep an eye on the reviews.

    bonus strategy: check out Google Docs. it’s also free. i like it better than Word or other word-processing programs because it exists on your browser and not on your hard drive. it auto-saves everything basically all the time so you never have to worry about it. it saves all of this on your Google drive account (the “cloud” aka google’s servers). what that means is that you have the freedom to retrieve those files from any computer, anywhere in the world at any time as long as it’s connected to the Internet. pretty cool.

    i realize that something like that sometimes sounds intimidating to embark on, especially if it means changing something that you’re already used to. it’s actually a pretty easy transition. my strategy for these instances is to just “play around with it”

    if you (or anybody else reading this) have any questions about anything i mentioned, i would love to help. there are few things i love more in life than helping people become more comfortable with computers/technology.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Bully says:

      hold – thank you!
      i have the mouse but wasnt using it. i’ll check and see if that doesnt work better on the laptop.
      and i will check out google docs
      thanks
      doug

      Like

  4. The Bully says:

    homey
    i think its a conspiracy
    thanks for commenting
    doug

    Like

  5. I feel your pain! I’ve been trying to learn a bunch of new stuff for my blog and it’s SO hard!!! I don’t want to read the directions and I want to know how to do it NOW – without any real effort.

    And the cursor on my laptop jumps all over the place! Sometimes whole sections will be missing or I’ll be typing somewhere I never meant to be. I did find out that the fix I had in place (thanks to my son) doesn’t work now because I updated to Windows 10 and there’s no fix available yet. Oh, my gosh!!! It’s always something!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

