617.48, or, The Mystery of the Missing Book — ADD Tip O the Day 693

At the Library with ADD ADHD

Went to the library to get a specific book. Computer says it’s 617.48, and it’s on the shelf. Went to the shelf. Not there.  There was a big book on brain injury, a subject I’m interested in, and I considered taking it instead, but I really wanted the first book.

I know myself, ADD ADHD, so back to the card catalog and recheck the number. It’s correct. Go look on the shelf again. Nope.

I’m not proud. Asked the librarian for help. Checks the computer. Says it’s on the shelf. Librarian goes to the shelf. Hands me the book. Was right where it was supposed to be, right next to the big brain injury book.

Best I can figure, the big brain injury book captured my attention and I couldn’t see anything else?

ADD ADHD and Chess?

Also, once again, I’ve given up on chess.  One of the reasons I’m no good is that I only see the pieces I’m  considering and never notice the bishop sitting over there on the corner.

A Good ADD ADHD Strategy – Planning Ahead

Have already set an appointment with the tax man. But when is it? I know I wrote it down somewhere. It’s not in my appointment book. It’s not on Martha’s calendar.  I have to call.  It’s March 3.  Oh, there it is in my appointment book, “tax”, on March 3.  And also on Martha’s calendar, the same.

Maybe I was looking for the man’s name, and not for “tax”?

Just because you can’t see it doesn’t mean it isn’t there.

Strategies:

  1. Look again
  2. Get help.
  3. But if it’s my glasses I can’t find, look on my face first.

doug                                                       

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies, tips,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,finding,seeing,missing,life with ADD,life with ADHD,add deniers,ADHD deniers.

Try not to punch them. Jail is not pleasant.

   

@addstrategies #adhd #add @dougmkpdp @thebullyonline #bully #bullying #thebullyonline
 
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 617.48, or, The Mystery of the Missing Book — ADD Tip O the Day 693

  1. The Bully says:

    ram – so its not just one thing, both looking in the wrong place and in the right place and not seeing. aren’t we interesting?
    thanks
    doug

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rammkatze says:

    “Can’t see the forest for the trees” doesn’t even begin to describe it, does it? 😉 I can’t tell you how often this has happened to me. I always tell people my biggest weakness at work is, when I look for something and someone tells me “it’s on the table”, I automatically crouch under the table and say “But where?! I don’t see it!”. Alas, I feel this is one of the big things were vanillas say “Oh that happens to me too, it’s normal”. My reply is usually “Yeah? Six times a day, EVERYday?”. It’s always good to know we’re not alone. Thanks for sharing, Doug 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • rammkatze says:

      (oh, and while I gave an example of looking on the wrong place when I was replying, rest assured, I get your problem and I too fail to see what I’m looking for even if it’s where it’s supposed to be, right under my nose, where I’m looking! But it’s like the funny motivational pic you once posted: Rosaleen can tell a great story. Whether you want to hear it or not. :p)

      Like

    • The Bully says:

      ram – exactly ” oh, i have some of those things some of the time too.” ” yes, and i have most of them most of the time. (and i’m trying hard not to tell you off in a very nasty way)”
      and i saw your second message, good example of ADHD – what you said, and then how you mis replied at first.
      thank you for contributing
      doug

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

