Writing with ADD ADHD? Is It Possible? — ADD Tip O the Day 691

Writing with ADD ADHD?

It takes me a long time to write a book.  ADD ADHD does not help. I’m a lousy writer, so I need many drafts with many suffering reviewers helping along the way.  But I finally got The Bully ready to go.  It was time to send it to CreateSpace for publishing.  They advertise you can do it in two hours. It took me two weeks. A lot of that was due to my ADD ADHD.

I spent all day Wednesday trying to get the back cover right, adjusting it over and over. I finally got it very nearly right. In my last review of the text I found a very few minor errors. There is a time to stop.  I sent it in Thursday morning.

CreateSpace said it would be published in 3 to 5 business days.  Of course, I was impatient; that’s ADD ADHD. But it was published by Thursday noon, showing up on Amazon!  Unfortunately, it won’t show up under The Bully, but under The Bully: A story of violence or under Puryear. Now I need to try to get that fixed.

Is writing possible with ADD ADHD.  Well, yes, but it ain’t easy!

Strategies:

  1. Perseverance, or just plain stubbornness.
  2. Good enough is good enough.
  3. Find good reviewers.  Thank you.

doug

Note:

The Bully is a story about growing up with ADD ADHD, although that is not the focus.

The Bully on Amazon                                                           

Testosterone,bully,bullying,The Bully,fighting,domination,add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies, tips,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies

The Bully

The Bully website

 

Bonus Note:

The next project is to get Living Daily with Adult ADD or ADHD into print form. Then use Create Space to publish it. Whew!

@addstrategies #adhd #add @dougmkpdp @thebullyonline #bully #bullying #thebullyonline

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing with ADD ADHD? Is It Possible? — ADD Tip O the Day 691

  1. rammkatze says:

    Hi Doug (Ram here, in case I show up as anon again…), so glad to hear your new book is out! I’m on a tight budget right now, so until I finish the book I’m reading now, I’ll keep it on my wish-list. I was very glad to find it available in the german Amazon.de right away and at very pleasant price at that 🙂
    I’ve been visiting a german ADHD Forum and I think they’re not familiar with your books yet. But it has a section for presenting ADHD books and I’m going to advertise your books a bit, if that’s ok, because they were like a rock to me at first. 😉
    I think you mentioned before how you want to make “Your life can be better” as a paperback, and I hope you let us know when you do! i somtimes have the urge to browse in it, but I can’t come to grips with that on an e-book format.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Bully says:

      ram – Great! Great! and Great!
      great you have a support group
      great the books are helpful to you
      great you want to advertise them. I would love for you to do that, thank you.
      your life can be better is in paper and e books, living daily is only in ebooks but I’m working to get print copy out. the bully is out in kindle, and i paper. on amazon, you have to enter the bully a story to get it. thats what i need to get fixed.
      thank you for your contributions and your support.
      Doug

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Vicki says:

    I’m looking forward to reading your book, Doug. I’m wondering if it will give me some insights into my father, who I think has ADD too. Thank you for writing it, that must have been challenging.

    It seems to me that you accomplish a lot. A LOT!! Even if it takes you longer. You’re working part time, traveling, had a seriously ill family member, doing all the learning activities you enjoy, writing a weekly blog (or is it more often, I don’t keep good track of time LOL), AND writing and publishing books. That’s just what I know from your blog. I have read that we who have ADD don’t do a good job of realizing how well we do, because of looking at the difficulties we have doing things. So hurray for your accomplishment! I hope you celebrate!

    And I certainly relate to your three strategies, especially stubbornness. Good to know there is a positive aspect to that. It helps me get a lot of things done I don’t like doing but need to do.

    Again – Congratulations!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Bully says:

      vicki – thank you for your kind and encouraging remarks. I guess I do accomplish a lot and I guess it is difficult, I assume more so than for vanillas. But then, who knows the troubles they have. I don’t think of stubbornness as one of the “gifts” of ADHD, but it has certainly been helpful to me. But like most things, there’s been a downside too
      thank you for contributing
      Doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

