Too Many Projects — ADD Tip O the Day 687

Creativity and ADD ADHD

One of the many “gifts” of ADD ADHD is that we are creative.  Is it a blessing or a curse?  Doesn’t it depend on how we manage it? – if we manage it.

I just read Derek Halpern’s post on focusing and about not trying to do too much at once.  He says with ADD ADHD we have too many projects going at once and have trouble finishing any of them.

Projects

Boy, this is me.  How many projects am I working on?

  1. New book The Bully
  2. Autobiography for descendants  Transformations
  3. Keep up with these ADD  ADHD posts
  4. Develop The Bully website.
  5. Keep up with posts on The Bully website
  6. Other ways to market the ADD ADHD books
  7. Other ways to market The Bully
  8. Transform the e book Living Daily with Adult ADD or ADHD into a new updated print edition.
  9. Figure out how to give away the pamphlet Six Basic Strategies for Coping with Adult ADD ADHD   — I think I just figured it out!  Will take some work.
  10. Re edit Transformations for the general public

I will also need to keep up with the basic tasks of living, including taxes, exercise, working, guitar, Spanish, etc.

Whew!

doug

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies, tips,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,focus,lack of focus,distraction,distractions,attention,inattention,lack of attention,priorities,choices,projects

Where do I even begin?? ADD ADHD and priorities.

Derek Halpern on “Go all in.”

Jerry Bair on accountability and motivation

Note:

If you want to study a language I highly recommend the free DuolingoIt’s great.

@addstrategies #adhd #add @dougmkpdp @thebullyonline
About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions, organize, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Too Many Projects — ADD Tip O the Day 687

  1. I’m with you. My projects list is long, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rammkatze says:

    Good job Doug. What impresses me the most on your post is noticing how the strategy of breaking the big things into small steps is like a second nature to you. I would’ve seen 3 things in there “Bully stuff”; “ADHD stuff”; “Book stuff”. I guess when I think i have nothing to do worth putting on a planner, I’m actually just putting it all in a clutter in my head and tricking myself into a sense of being very “Unbusy”. You defenitely gave me something to think about, Doug!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Bully says:

      ram -thanks, sometimes i have to stop myself and ask – why am i stalled? or procrastinating?- Oh, I need to break into smaller steps. so its not totally 2nd nature yet. that sense of being unbusy might be worth something.
      as always, thank you for contributing
      doug

      Like

  3. holdthatthought says:

    What strategy do you employ to maintain focus in regards to seeing a project through? Just yesterday I read a post about this exact thing (http://www.iwillteachyoutoberich.com/blog/how-to-master-the-habits-of-successful-people/) and the author’s number 1 was to basically maintain laser-like focus. It feels impossible, if not for the simple fact that my interests change on a weekly basis. I can’t be the only one like that, right?

    Great post, Dr. Puryear. I enjoy reading these.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Bully says:

      dino
      several strategies, briefly- before i start i make sure i really think its worth the effort. then i commit to myself to finish. maybe break it into small steps and make each one a project. maybe lock in by posting or telling friends about it. when distractions arise, write them down and continue on. think of it as a marathon, and when i’m tired, or tired of it, or lose interest, remember the committment and just force myself to push on. set up a big reward for me for when i’m done.
      not the only one? not at all! thats why i need strategies
      thank you for contributing
      doug

      Like

    • The Bully says:

      hold – i replied. where did i get “dino”?

      Liked by 1 person

      • holdthatthought says:

        Dino is right actually, I am very impressed you remembered who I am!
        🙂 thanks for replying. I now remember reading those strategies in Your Life Can Be Better. I like your perspective on it being a marathon – – just keep on chugging away. A 10 mile run doesn’t have to feel like it’s ten miles if you pretend like you’re just running 1 mile ten times right

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

