Flexibility and Perceptions with ADD ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 686

My ADD ADHD locks me into unpleasant things

I needed to do my morning routine, and then exercise and shower, and then I had a         one  PM appointment.  I was feeling rushed – hate that feeling.  Then I realized there was no reason I couldn’t do the exercise and shower after the appointment.  No more rushed.  That worked well.  We tend to get locked into perceptions and fail to recognize alternatives.

Strategy

Feeling rushed, overloaded, overwhelmed, can be a red flag.  It says to pause and consider other options.

doug

Bonus Links:

Perception and ADD ADHD

Attitude and ADD ADHD

A Positive Note

After gaining all that weight over the holidays, I got back on my plan.  It works!  I’m almost back to where I was.  But I still need a strategy for when we’re on the road, or for just when we’re eating out.  Your suggestions are welcome.

focus, distratction,#add,#adhd,@dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, gifts of ADD,gifts of ADHD,benefits of ADD, ADHD, benefits, controversies, opinions

With ADD ADHD, there are always other things to think about.

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies, tips,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,focus,lack of focus,distraction,distractions,attention,inattention,lack of attention

This is ADD ADHD organization.

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, attitudes, distraction, dysfunctions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flexibility and Perceptions with ADD ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 686

  1. Years ago when I went to Weight Watchers, they divided eating out into two categories: eating out instead of at home and festive eating. When you’re eating out instead of at home, you eat like you would at home or stick to your eating plan. When it’s festive eating for a special occasion, you splurge a little. But if you eat out a lot, you shouldn’t see every time as festive eating.

    As far as being flexible, I know what you mean. I used to struggle with that. Now I’ve gotten SO flexible that I can’t do anything. I’m always rearranging everything and then I can’t get any momentum going so I’m unproductive.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Bully says:

      Homey -sounds good. i dont know if that works for me. what works for me at home is focusing on the salad as entree and little bits of the other stuff. if i got salad eating out, whats the point of eating out? but i could still think of small portions. the festive would ruin everything, i can gain 5 lbs in one night.
      each of us is unique
      i’m guessing you mean unproductive by YOUR standards?
      thanks for contributing
      doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

