Many, many, many things on my mind, with ADD ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 684

Three other things

Often when I’m doing something, my mind is on three other things I need to be doing (or want to be doing.)  That’s ADD ADHD.

Can anyone relate to this?

Strategy

Write the other three things down. 

But I hate to stop what I’m doing to do that.  It seems best if I can just commit to getting the one thing done, no matter what’s going on in my head.

doug

#add #adhd @dougmkpdp @addstrategies

Bonus Links:

Distracted

Handling Distractions

Recognize Distractions

focus,distraction,add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategies,

Distractions, anyone?

When my brain works at all.

When my brain works at all.

focus,distraction,ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, strategy,strategies,symptoms,problems,time,dysfunction,busy,pressure,rush,hurry,attitude,illusion

Isn’t ADD ADHD life interesting? So many things to think.

focus,distraction,ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, strategy,strategies,symptoms,problems,brain,genes,genetics,frontal,frontal lobe,amygdale,subcortical,science,research,mind,imaging

The ADD ADHD brain is different. And very busy.

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, distraction, dysfunctions, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Many, many, many things on my mind, with ADD ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 684

  1. Yes. Most of the time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Bully says:

      betsy- so it’s not just me!
      thanks
      doug

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve always thought it was a filtering problem, and it is; but recently I’ve been thinking about it as a low capacity for doing things anyway. Meaning, doing something even though there are other things in one’s mind, or on the visual horizon, etc. I’m not certain it makes much difference, functionally, but it seems like practicing the doing things anyway could help.

        Liked by 1 person

        • The Bully says:

          betsy -an interesting puzzle. maybe we can’t filter out irrelevant thoughts? or maybe the thoughts are always there and we can’t get the spotlight of consciousness to settle down quit sweeping the landscape and focus on one thing? the models seem different but the result is the same.
          i dont think i have a low capacity for doing things, its pretty high. i do too many things. i have a low capacity for choosing the most important thing and sticking with it and finishing before i move on to the next.
          thank you for contributing
          dou

          Like

Leave a Reply

