Merry Christmas, or Whatever — ADD Tip O the Day 680

First, things have been a little rocky and a little more chaotic than the usual ADD ADHD life, and I am a little behind. BUT

Michael is home! after more than 2 weeks in ICU. Thank you everyone for your prayers and support.  AND

A blessed Christmas to each of you, and if Christmas is not your thing, then I hope Dec. 25 goes great for you, and if  you have another holiday of choice, then I hope it is blessed too.

Just read an article by W. M. Dodson, MD, about the stimulants.  Hope to post on it soon.  He is an ADD ADHD expert, who gave me the

Quote O the Day

‘The purpose of the stimulants is to help you focus enough to use the strategies.’

Note O the Day

I know this post is not up to par, hope to do better next time.  I am also struggling to develop  another website, The Bully.

doug

#ADD #ADHD @dougmkpdp @addstrats

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,stimulants,adult add,adult adhd

Life can be hard. With ADD ADHD, it’s harder.

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD strategies, adhd, medication, medicine, stimulants, strategies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Merry Christmas, or Whatever — ADD Tip O the Day 680

  1. holdthatthought says:

    “The purpose of the stimulants is to help you focus enough to use the strategies.”

    that’s a great perspective, thank you for sharing that. so many people believe that just taking the meds is all that is necessary for the adhd symptoms to disappear. it’s sometimes difficult to try and explain that that’s just not how it works.

    Merry Christmas Dr. Puryear.
    looking forward to exploring your new site when it’s ready, hang in there.

    -d

    Like

  2. shannonell says:

    Doug,

    I am so sorry to hear that your grandson was so ill, and so very happy for you that he’s home again. That’s the best Christmas present anyone could hope for!

    I’m not a religious person, per se, in that I don’t believe in any particular deity or follow any one religious institution. But I do like to believe that when we send good wishes out into the universe, there’s something bigger than us which puts the power of that where it was meant to go. And you’ve garnered a lot of good wishes from a lot of people, I’m sure. You’ve helped so many of us with the work that you do, more people than you know. I know in my IRL ADHD support group I often share your strategies and words with new members. Some of them have bought your book, but there are quite a few who can barely afford to feed and shelter themselves who have not. So I just share your wisdom with them, and the good you do grows without your knowledge. I’m certain I’m not the only one of your readers for whom this is true.

    So on behalf of myself and the other people you’ve helped through me, thank you. I hope all of our gratitude and good wishes get to you through those powers that be, and make this a Merry Christmas for you and your family, by supporting Michael’s continued and speedy recovery.
    And a happy New Year, too!

    Shannon.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

