Sleep, and Health, and ADD ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 679

Inadequate sleep makes ADD ADHD worse

I’m a little more disorganized than usual, thus so is this post.  Probably because I didn’t get enough sleep last night.

Sleep is of fundamental importance to our health and well-being, but even more so with ADD ADHD.  Our symptoms become  worse if we don’t get enough sleep.

Sleep hygiene can be very helpful, but most people don’t want to hear about it.  Most of us just want a pill.  I put links for sleep hygiene below.

I use melatonin at bedtime.  It’s “natural,”for whatever that’s worth. And unless I take it in the middle of the night, there is no hangover.  I believe in doing whatever we need to do in order to get our sleep.  Ambien (zolpidem) works well for most people, although not for me.

Stimulant medications

Daytrana and other stimulants (Adderall, Ritalin, amphetamines) can be very helpful for ADD ADHD symptoms, but can keep us awake at night unless we managed the dosage and the timing carefully.  I need to take my Daytrana patch off by 1:30 PM or I will have insomnia.  I use the alarm on my cell phone. It’s set for 1:20 and again for 1:30 – because I don’t always take it off the first time.

The big secret tip about sleep

Get up.

That’s it.  Get up.

If you’re not asleep in 15-20 minutes, or if you wake up in the middle of the night and can’t get back to sleep, just get up. Do something not too stimulating until you feel sleepy; then go back to bed.  Repeat as necessary.  There is nothing more guaranteed to keep you awake than trying to go to sleep.  And few things more miserable.

And lying in bed struggling to sleep will condition your brain that the bed is not a place to sleep.

(When do you think I write all these posts?)

doug

Sleep hygiene

Sleep hygiene 2

Great Note O the Day:

Michael is doing very well and is supposed to be coming home Monday.  Thank God.

#add #adhd #sleep @dougmkpdp @addstrategies @adhdstrategies
add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategy, strategies, tips,living with ADD,living with ADHD,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,symptoms,problems,ADD problems,ADHD problems,ADHD symptoms,@addstrategies, ADD symptoms,#adhd, #add, @dougmkpdp,@adhdstrategies,sleep,insomnia,sleeping,sleep problems,daytime sleepiness

—that knits the raveled sleeve —. Boy, are my sleeves raveled!

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, attitudes, dysfunctions, educate yourself, medication, medicine, science, stimulants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sleep, and Health, and ADD ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 679

  1. headshop01 says:

    nice post thnx for sharing also visit http://www.mceconferences.com

    Like

  2. rammkatze says:

    Great news about your grandson! It must have been awful for everyone, but now the worst hast passend and you can all pamper him 🙂
    Sleep really is important. I couldn’t sleep the night through ever since my teens, didn’t know why. After a breakdown for losing my job 3 Yeats ago, I was put on anti-depressants to fight anxiety and finally could get through the nicht – although the side-effect if crazy dreams never went away. Now I take Opipramol before bedtime and it works wonders if I’m not under unusually high stress.
    I do remember getting up for a smoke when I was still undiagnosed and a smoker). I was actually doing something: get up and make the body realize that that’s actually nonsense at that time of the day. 😉 because the funny thing is: even though nicotine acts as a stimulant and I got fresh air while.smoking (never smoked in the house), the getting up still worked!

    Like

    • The Bully says:

      ram thank you. sounds like you’ve got it sorted out now. great. glad you’re not smoking.
      my idea is that the AD’s dont make us have crazy dreams, they just can make our dreams extremely vivid and intense, and thus unpleasant and we remember them. dont know if thats correct. i have to lookup opipramol
      thank you for contributing as always
      doug

      Like

    • The Bully says:

      ram opipramol is not avialable in US. a pity
      doug

      Like

  3. holdthatthought says:

    really happy to hear that your grandson is back home.
    question: is it possible that one could develop a tolerance to melatonin? i.e. needing to up the dose as time goes on as your body gets used to it?

    Like

  4. Had to go back to find out about Michael. I haven’t been on my computer much lately. It’s upstairs and I don’t get up there very much because of the puppy. So glad Michael is doing better. It’s frightening when a family member is ill, especially a grandchild. I will pray for him today.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Isn’t that the truth! Sleep is SO important. I take melatonin, too, and have been for years. It makes a huge difference.

    I don’t usually get up when I can’t sleep, though. I’ve tried that but it seems to make everything worse. I’m more tired in the morning and it takes even longer to get to sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

