Structure and Routine And Strategies for ADD ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 656

Structure and Strategies

Structure is essential.  I don’t consider it a strategy though.  Not quite sure why. Probably because it is so basic.

Basics include sleep, structure, exercise, and maybe getting outside, mediation or yoga or something like that.  Basics also include to-do lists and appointment books and calendars.

Structure pretty much means routine.  Get up and go to bed at about the same time usually, same for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and tooth brushing.  Church on Sunday. Don’t have to think about those things, don’t have to make decisions.

A strategy is a way of dealing with a very specific problem. 

I keep losing my keys, I’m often late picking up the kids from school, I’ve driven off with the gas hose in my tank three times, I’m paying late charges because I don’t get around to paying the bills, etc.  Those are specific problems.

To qualify as A Problem it has to be frequent enough or serious enough or inconvenient enough to make it worth the effort to work on it.  Or put another way, fixing it is going to make my life better.

Then the principle kicks in: identify the problem, make a strategy, make a rule (and keep on it even when I slip up), make it a habit.  Then I don’t have to remember it or think about it. Life will get better.

Note: Some people don’t like structure.  But then, some people like drama.

Second Note: I think this post came off a comment from Ram.  Hope all of you are reading the comments.  They’re great!

doug      

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategies,schedule,structure,strategy,disorganization

A weekly schedule. More structure for my ADD ADHD.

 

Bonus Link:  Very interesting ADD ADHD information from Dr. Amen. I fear it may be a little too advanced for me.

 

 

 

#add #adhd #addproblems #adhdproblems   @dougmkp @addstrategies @insightADHD #adhdsure

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, attitudes, organize, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Structure and Routine And Strategies for ADD ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 656

  1. Structure is SO, SO, SO important. That’s what I’m lacking right now and why I’m struggling so much. I’ve always been able to create structure in the past but this new phase of life is so complicated I haven’t figured it out yet. But I’m not giving up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. rammkatze says:

    Hi Doug! I always read the comments, even if I have nothing to say. Usually there are pretty encouraging things to read there too. This blog feels like a small community that I’m glad to be a part of 🙂

    I cannot for the life of me figure out which of my comments could have prompted you to write about structure – maybe the ones that mention I’m still at a loss with planners because I have so little to plan? But it’s funny how we influence people around us. Thanks to this blog, not only I found a good influence on you, I also found Homey’s blog and have been motivated into keeping my apparment neat and do the floors at least once every two or three days! It’s something that makes me really happy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ram – i’m glad you read the comments, hope most people are. love the idea of a community here, i feel the same.
      i’m not sure about the comment,but think you mentioned routine as a strategy and it got me thinking nit picking probably .
      and i hope Homey reads your comment here, such a good effect.
      thank you for contributing
      doug

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Scott Marckx says:

    Thanks Doug!
    Bedtimes and getting up times have been difficult for me. Often we are out late at night, playing for a dance or a jam session or dinner with friends. We keep trying to real it back in, but it is difficult. Once I’m up I have a morning routine and an evening routine, but in between it gets fuzzy. I keep trying to use my established routines as anchors for other things I want to add: work structure, etc., but there is a certain amount of chaos it seems and I haven’t figured out how to wrangle that. I believe the bed time thing would probably really help if I was able to hold to it…

    Thanks for your posts!
    Scott

    Liked by 1 person

    • scott-you do routines, which is good. maybe you could try to aim for bedtimes realizing you wont quite get there or maybe its just not possible for you. the anchors is good. maybe a routine thing midday would help some?
      thank you for contributing
      doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

