ADD ADHD Talking To Myself — ADD Tip O the Day 648

Sometimes I talk to myself out loud, sometimes just inside my head.

“You need to call Verizon.”

I don’t want to call Verizon.

“You need to call Verizon anyway.”

It probably won’t do any good.

“You need to try.”

OK. Let me do one game of free cell first.

“You’ll have plenty of time to play free cell while you’re on hold.  Aren’t you always bragging about multitasking?”

No.  Anyway, this conversation would make a good blog post.  Let me get it down before I forget it.

 

—- to be continued.  How will it turn out?

Does this sound familiar to anyone?

doug and “doug”      

#add #adhd @addadultstrategies @addstrategies @dougmkpdp

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,disorder,dysfunction,disfunction,procrastination,put it off,avoid,games,free cell,free-cell

With ADD ADHD, we need all the help we can get.

 

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, adhd, distraction, dysfunctions, marriage, procrastination and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to ADD ADHD Talking To Myself — ADD Tip O the Day 648

  1. Oh, yes! I talk to myself constantly.

    Liked by 1 person

    • homey – yes.
      isn’t it helpful?
      “now doug, remember to thank homey and then to clik the notify button and then to move the comment to the comment box. that’s good, you’ve replied, now move on, don’t just keep going on and on more than necessary. but be sure to proof read before you clik post, you nearly forgot, and you know what can happen.”
      thanks, homey

      Like

  2. rammkatze says:

    It does sound familiar. But “the voice” in me is usually very mean – like a bullying popular girl trying to put me down (had a couple of those in my teens). It sometimes becomes very tiresome to the point of tears because I’m very aware that that negative voice isn’t my real voice – it isn’t anyone’s voice – and it’s false false false. I talk back to it (usually “that’s not true, you’re just upset!”) too. Sometimes it’s mild dialoges like yours. When I’m in a particular good mood, I end up bullying the negative voice back and get a chuckle out of it. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • doug says:

      RAM- that is a lousy voice. Good for you recognize that it’s false. Do you know where it comes from? was it somebody in your childhood before your teens or was it that popular girl? (I know it’s not somebody,, but maybe the ideas came from somebody originally?)
      anyway, bullying it back sounds good. Tell it to go take a flying leap.
      Our negative self talk is so destructive, we need ways to deal with it
      thank you for sharing.
      Doug

      Like

      • rammkatze says:

        Oh I know exactly where it comes from! My mom and a two of my sisters (I have many). They allways put me down and called it “helping”. Like then I was 10 and wanted to do ballet and one of them said “You’re too old already, give it up” or when I was 12 and was so impressed by the flexibility of another girl and told it to my sis and how I wanted to join gymnastics and got a “just because she can do it doesn’t mean you can” back. Sheesh… 😐 It’s a rough struggle to figure out if it’s what I’m thinking is some bully would or what >I’m< telling myself out of fear, but no matter how tired it makes me, I still feel like I'm winning. 🙂 And as allways, thanks for the tips and support Doug. You're a godsend to me!

        Liked by 1 person

        • ram – with that kind of helpers, you don’t need any enemies.
          glad if i can be of any use.
          one thought – maybe write each of those “helpers” a letter, that you will burn not send. so let it rip. then maybe do it again later.
          another – can you figure out why each of them was so threatened or jealous or competing with you so you can understand their need to sabotage?
          best wishes
          doug

          Like

  3. Vicki says:

    Isn’t this good? Doesn’t it show that you can hold more than one point of view in your working memory?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Martha Puryear says:

    Good Mantra

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

