Better Sleeping Through Technology, with or without ADD ADHD – ADD Tip O the Day 634

Sleep is an essential part of ADD ADHD management

So Jerry Bair gave me this guest post.  He is a tech whiz, so his approach is a little different.   Here it is:

 

Top 10 Tech Hacks To Give Your Body The Sleep It Deserves
July 30, 2015 by J.J. Bair Leave a Comment

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, symptoms,problems,sleep,insomnia,technology,procrastination

Did you know that you can improve your ability to gain new insights into complex problems by 50% with 8 hours of quality sleep?
I had two immediate thoughts when I first read this statistic. The first was: “Who in the world gets 8 hours of quality sleep these days?” The second was that they specifically mention “quality” in front of the word “sleep.” For those that don’t know, “quality sleep” is basically referring to the amount of time spent in REM or deep sleep, the stages where your body recharges and consolidates.
That being said, many people don’t have the option to sleep eight hours a night, and for those that do, many prefer to use that time for other things. I’ll admit that I’m guilty of the latter sometimes.
So, it stands that if we can’t get enough sleep in terms of quantity, then we should focus instead on quality. There are many natural and supplementary ways to do this, but being the “techy” I am, I figured it would be nice to show people what’s out there from a technology perspective.
Here you go…

Top 10 Tech Hacks for Better Sleep
1 Sleep as Android
Top 10 Tech Hacks for Better Sleep | Sleep as Android

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, symptoms,problems,sleep,insomnia,technology,procrastination

Use this app to keep track of your sleep quality and wake up in a light sleep phase so you’re less groggy (for Android)

2 Sleep Cycle alarm clock
Top 10 Tech Hacks for Better Sleep | Sleep Cycle alarm clock

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, symptoms,problems,sleep,insomnia,technology,procrastination

This is another smart alarm clock that tracks your sleep and wakes you in your lightest phase of sleep, so you wake up feeling rested. (for iOS)

3 ResMed S+
Top 10 Tech Hacks for Better Sleep | ResMed S+

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, symptoms,problems,sleep,insomnia,technology,procrastination

The S+ is a non-contact sleep system including a bedside sleep sensor, smartphone app, and web-based app. It tracks and analyzes your sleep patterns, then gives you personalized feedback on how you can improve your sleep.

4 Withings Aura
Top 10 Tech Hacks for Better Sleep | Withings AuraADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, symptoms,problems,sleep,insomnia,technology,procrastination

Withings Aura is similar to the S+ in that it’s also contactless and analyzes your sleep patterns to help you get the best sleep quality. This bundle comes with a sensor that slides under your mattress, a cool-looking bedside device with light/sound programs, and a smartphone app.

5 SleepRate
Top 10 Tech Hacks for Better Sleep | SleepRate

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, symptoms,problems,sleep,insomnia,technology,procrastination

The SleepRate Sleep Improvement Kit comes with a proprietary app (for iOS) and wireless heart rate sensor that goes across your chest. Wearing this sensor during your sleep helps assess your sleep patterns and possible sleep disruptions.

6 Hexoskin
Top 10 Tech Hacks for Better Sleep | Hexoskin

7

Hexoskin’s biometric shirt tracks a multitude of health and fitness metrics. Plus, it looks like something a Navy Seal would wear. As far as sleep tracking goes, wearing this to bed allows you to monitor resting heart rate, breathing, and even sleep positions.

7 Somnus Sleep Shirt
Top 10 Tech Hacks for Better Sleep | Somnus Sleep Shirt

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, symptoms,problems,sleep,insomnia,technology,procrastination

Say hello to the Nyx Devices Somnus Sleep Shirt, a biometric shirt which was born from technology made at MIT. This shirt has sensors that, when paired with the SleepLogger app, allow you to track and optimize the quality and quantity of your sleep.

8 Basis Peak
Top 10 Tech Hacks for Better Sleep | Basis Peak

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, symptoms,problems,sleep,insomnia,technology,procrastination

Is the Basis Peak the Ultimate Sleep and Fitness Tracker? It’s definitely up there. This sweet-looking smart watch monitors a multitude of fitness and sleep metrics, keeps you socially connected, provides built-in coaching, and streams your data to various other iPhone and Android apps. As far as sleep goes, it tracks sleep duration, REM and deep sleep and sleep disruptions to help you optimize your sleep quality.

9 Bulletproof Sleep Induction Mat

10

The Bulletproof Sleep Induction Mat claims to help you fall asleep faster, feel more refreshed, and improve overall energy levels. According to the site, It’s about the size of your pillowcase and can be rolled up when you need to take it on the road.

10 Low-Blue Nightlight
Top 10 Tech Hacks for Better Sleep | Low-Blue Nightlight

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, symptoms,problems,sleep,insomnia,technology,procrastination,@addstrategies, @dougmkp #adhd #adhd

Do you toss and turn, or wake up a lot in the middle of the night? The Low-Blue Night Light has a custom amber LED bulb that doesn’t emit any blue light which can trick your brain into thinking it’s still daytime. The F.lux desktop app works similarly in reducing blue light exposure in the evenings.
Better Sleep is awaiting…
Now that you’ve had a chance to go through the Top 10 tech hacks for better sleep, what were your favorites? Were there any missing that you think should’ve been on the list? Share your thoughts below.

Keeping pushing things off? Want to start taking some action? Get the free Breaking Through Procrastination Workbook!
Stop procrastinating. Take action, follow through, and start achieving success today.

Popular Posts

3 Extraordinary Millionaires Who Attribute Their Success to ADHD 3 Extraordinary Millionaires Who Attribute Their Success to ADHD

8 Simple Strategies to Prevent ADHD Overwhelm 8 Simple Strategies to Prevent ADHD Overwhelm

2 Incredible Traits that ADHDers Share with Entrepreneurs 2 Incredible Traits that ADHDers Share with Entrepreneurs

Thanks, Jerry.      

To sleep, or not to sleep, that is the ADD ADHD question.   And how?

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, symptoms,problems,sleep,insomnia,technology,procrastination,@addstrategies, @dougmkp #adhd #adhd

To sleep, or not to sleep, that is the ADD ADHD question.

 doug

@addstrategies, @dougmkp #adhd #adhd

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Better Sleeping Through Technology, with or without ADD ADHD – ADD Tip O the Day 634

  1. Pingback: Technology and ADHD? — ADD Tip O the Day 698 | ADDadultstrategies

  2. D K Powell says:

    Sleep has gone back to being the problem it once was since coming of the antidepressants. Still would rather that than be on them still though…

    Like

      • D K Powell says:

        Because they weren’t working and it was time Doug to be honest. Is it an ADHD thing do you think to sometimes feel the need to make a stand and do something outrageous and foolhardy to feel like you’re doing something positive in your life? Either way, the old ‘sleep-is-overrated’ body clock has clicked back in!

        Like

        • ken- let me know if i’m butting in too much. in spite of my ADD I can back off.
          yes, ADD ADHD leads us to unwise decisions and actions. Boy, does it!
          if the meds worked and then stopped, that usually means raise the dose, add something else, or change meds. stopping is risky if there’s been 3 or more episodes or with certain other factors.
          sleep is terribly important and needsto be addressed in some way.
          for those who dont want to take meds – dont get me started on that – the natural antidepressants are exercise, meditation, and helping others. i know you do a lot of the latter – maybe less so since you moved?
          best wishes
          doug

          Liked by 1 person

          • D K Powell says:

            Hi Doug – did all that. Raised, changed etc. but to be honest, they kept the edge off something which was always manageable. I’m a naturally positive person and what happened to me was done to me by others and I’ve got through that now. Yes I exercise – a lot – and meditate (though not in the traditional sense). My life seems to be spent helping others and it is extremely busy – all from living at home too – so I’m very content, feel blessed, well loved, well supported and with a purpose in life. The black dog still appears but it is really little more than a naughty puppy now and rarely appears to have its nose smacked. I’m sure it will come and bite me from time to time – but then it used to do that when I was taking the meds! Anyway, I’m not daft – I promise – and I’m watching my moods carefully. My wife is watching them even closer!!

            Like

  3. I’ve never tried one of those sleep apps. It would be interesting as I definitely have trouble sleeping. I’ve been taking 3mg of melatonin every night for a long time. It helps. I ran out one day last week and slept TERRIBLE. I made sure I got some the next day. Sometimes it’s restless leg and sometimes I can’t turn my brain off. Once I get to sleep, I can usually sleep pretty well. I get my best sleep in the early morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • homey – sleep is so important. And can be so difficult. I’m using CALM (magnesium) which has really helped for the restless legs. There are other tricks too. Maybe the most important for me is when I can’t turn my brain off- I just get up and do some work, maybe discharge the stuff on my mind, and then go back to bed. Once I’m sleepy.
      As always, thank you for your great comments.
      Doug

      Like

  4. rammkatze says:

    I gave up the sleep apps because although the first couple of times I woke up gently, I once set it for a nap and then gave up on the nap and went to the other side of the Appartement and started cooking. When I eventually heard the alarm and shut it off, I realized that the APP had created a whole sleeping map for my nap. Although I had been wide awake the whole time, 20 feet away from the phone. It was spooky. Made me wonder what the APP was getting from my phone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ram
      spooky. what app was it? maybe another one would be better for you?
      for sleep,whatever it takes.
      thank you for commenting
      doug

      Like

      • rammkatze says:

        I think it was “sleep time” by azumio. Not sure. Might try another one, although to be fair, I only sleep unwell if I’ve been anxious during the day. Granted, tjat has been the case quite often, but that will change.

        Liked by 1 person

    • jjbair says:

      I agree with Doug on this. Usually, with sleep apps, there’s a window of time (could be anywhere from 5 to 30 minutes) before your alarm goes off where the app will detect you in a light sleep phase and wake you up beforehand. If you get up before that window, though, the app will think you’re still in deep/REM sleep and not go off until the exact time you have set (unless you manually turn it off).It sounds like that’s what happened in your case. The app didn’t detect any movement, so it assumed you were still in deep sleep.

      I personally use Sleep as Android, though it could be a little complex if you’re new to sleep tracking. Sleep Cycle is much simpler and a little more intuitive if you’re just starting out.

      Liked by 1 person

      • rammkatze says:

        You know, I would’ve been OK with the APP assuming I’m in REM sleep, but it mapped some REM, light sleep and awake phases. THAT’s what I found funny. The cell phone was on top of the nightstand – placed it there after I decided I wasn’t gonna sleep – abd I don’t have pets or neighbourhood kids bouncing off the walls. It was just too weird…

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Jeff says:

    Your posts are much better, Doug! The best thing about this post was the cute photo of a cat, and Insomnia Jeopardy. I’m guessing you were responsible for these. Jerry is way too high-tech for ME. Jeff

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

