ADD ADHD and the Benefits of Fidgeting — ADD ADHD Tip O the Day 630

Can’t Concentrate With ADD ADHD

We were at a Wagner opera, which I love.  But I had a lot on my mind (what else is new?) and I wasn’t able to concentrate on the opera.  I was missing a lot of the enjoyment of it.  Then I started tapping my foot in time to the music or even tapping when there was no music.  Suddenly I was able to focus!

Fidget

I used to get all over our son Duane when he fidgeted at the dinner table.  Bugged me.  But was I fidgeting too?  I usually am.  Waiting at a restaurant, I play with the silverware until my wife tells me to stop.  Then I play with my water glass or jiggle my leg. Until she tells me to stop that.  Then I get the cork out of my pocket and squeeze it.  That doesn’t bother anybody.

Do you have some special fidgets to share?

The Science of Fidgeting

Recent posts describe an experiment with ADD ADHD children who were asked to do a difficult task. The  children who fidgeted more did better at the task than those who fidgeted less.

But with science, you have to be careful.  Did the fidgeting help with the concentration? I think so.  But what if the non-fidgeters were using up part of their concentration to sit still?

doug

Links:

Fidgeting Helps

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, strategy,strategies,symptoms,fidget,fidgeting,focus,concentrate,science,jiggling

ADD ADHD medicine usually helps.

Longer Article On Fidgeting

@addstrategies @dougmkpdp

#ADD #ADHD #hyperactivity

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, strategy,strategies,symptoms,fidget,fidgeting,focus,concentrate,science,jiggling

I know you have ÁDD ADHD, but could you stop that?

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD, strategy,strategies,symptoms,fidget,fidgeting,focus,concentrate,science,jiggling

With ADD ADHD, we’re gonna fidget!

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, science, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to ADD ADHD and the Benefits of Fidgeting — ADD ADHD Tip O the Day 630

  1. D K Powell says:

    Oddly, I don’t fidget. But my son does. It drives me nuts.

    Like

  2. I haven’t found anything that doesn’t annoy others. I guess I haven’t really tried. I play with my wedding ring although I’ve stopped doing that because I almost dropped it during church a couple of times and I was terrified it was going to roll down to the front. I wear bracelets sometimes and I mess with those. I occasionally click my pen but if my husband’s with me he immediately puts a stop to that. I also ruffle the pages on my Bible during church. I guess at church the best thing I’ve come up with to help me pay attention is to take notes. That keeps me from fidgeting. I’ve always joked that if they would let me quilt or crochet I’d have a lot easier time paying attention.

    I do this weird routine with my face, too. I didn’t know it until my husband told me. I push up my glasses and then move my fingers around my nose and then my mouth and end with my chin. He says I never do just part of it. Dang. Embarrassing.

    I also shift a lot in my chair when I have to sit. And I get up and down a lot at home. In fact, I sit on the edge of my chair all the time. It drives my family nuts when I do it at the dining room table because they can’t get around me. But I hate sitting the normal way. I did finally figure out it’s because it makes it harder to get up and down.

    One of my readers mentioned a really great trick that I need to try. She used silly putty to keep her hands occupied. It works well for kids, too. You just keep working the silly putty. It’s quiet and doesn’t bother anyone. Sounds like I need to make a special trip to Wal-mart to get some ASAP.

    Liked by 1 person

    • homey- we do fidget, don’t we? silly putty sounds good, or a worry stone, or i use the cork.
      how does our family ever put up with us?
      we must have some redeeming features.
      thank you for the comment
      doug

      Like

  3. rammkatze says:

    My fidgets don’t seem to bother anyone, now that I think of it. They mostly seem to make my family think I’m a child. I do feel a strong need to constantly touch stuff. Usually, running the fingertip just below the tip of the fingernail does the trick. Or discreetly pulling the skin between the fingers, or rubbing every bend I find – elbow, knees, behind the ears…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bzzybee75 says:

    We have some of the sticky velcro circles that we stuck the sticky sides together so the 14 year old can carry them in his pocket like a “worry stone”.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

