Procrastination, Stigma, and Heroes — ADD Tip O the Day 626

ADD ADHD and Procrastination and Father’s Day has come and gone.

I meant to do a great post for Father’s Day, about genetics and ADD ADHD.   I probably got mine from my grandfather.  My father maybe had a touch.  My mother could blurt out some truly awful things but I didn’t see anything else to suggest ADD ADHD.

I meant to do a great post for Father’s Day.  Have you heard of procrastination?

I was on top of July 4th though.

Let’s honor the American heroes who risked all they had, including their lives, in the cause of liberty.  And let’s honor their wives and children who were also at risk.

While we’re at it, let’s honor all those who sacrificed so much in the cause of civil rights, especially  Goodman, Scherner, Chaney, Medgar Evers and all those others who gave their lives.

Let’s honor the gay rights and GLBT activists who have also sacrificed much and achieved  so much.

So what about ADD ADHD?

Well, there is still stigma, isn’t there?  And how do we fight stigma and ignorance?  By coming out, like the GLBTs.  None of us have the right to tell anyone else that they should come out – it can be at risk of job, relationships, ridicule.  Everyone has to make their own decision.

But it is by our coming out that the stigma is defeated.

doug

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD,coming out,stigma,risk

Who do we tell about our ADD ADHD and when?

 

 

#stigma  #endthestigma  #add #adhd @dougmkpdp @addstrategies

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, adhd, controversies, procrastination and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Procrastination, Stigma, and Heroes — ADD Tip O the Day 626

  1. D K Powell says:

    I’m quite open and honest about mine but then it is a very positive aspect to my life so I have never felt shame or the desire to keep it hidden.

    Like

    • ken
      so you are one of the heroes who is reducing the stigma.
      how is it positive?
      thanks
      doug

      Like

      • D K Powell says:

        Definitely not a hero (ask my wife!). I’m one of those apparently called ‘twice exceptional’. My ADHD helps me get much more done in the day than all those around me. I can also easily turn my attention from one thing to another and give focused attention in an instant. Can’t multi-task for toffee of course (I AM a man!) but I can change focus fast! I wouldn’t be without my ADHD!

        Like

        • ken – sounds like you have more control over your attention than most of us?
          lucky.
          for me, i’d be willing to trade my ADD ADHD in for something else, maybe toenail fungus or something. oh, wait – i’ve already got that.

          i’d argue about your not being a hero. ADD ADHD, bangaldesh, teaching, parenting, and being out in the open and all
          thank you for commenting always
          doug

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeff says:

    Hi Doug. I was surprised how few people displayed the American flag this past weekend – from what I saw anyway. I displayed mine all weekend as a way to honor our veterans, and to show pride in our country!

    After reading your post I decided to reveal my problem with ADD to a friend who I was out golfing with. Before then, only my wife knew. My friend listened as I explained that I have ADD, and how this turned out to be a major cause of most of my memory problems. Afterward, he didn’t have much to say. Unless you suffer from the symptoms, or have a family member who does, I don’t think there’s much interest by the general public. But it’s probably a good idea to discuss our problem with others, as appropriate, who have somehow been affected our ADD. Jeff

    Liked by 1 person

    • jeff – i think for a while the flag was kind of taken over by a faction that some of us disagreed with, and flying it indicated that we were with them. so it lost some appeal and hasn’t regained it. but i also think there is a general apathy.
      i agree many people dont want to hear about our ADD ADHD. but by coming out you struck a blow for freedom. the more people who personally know more people with ADD ADHD the less stigma. i think thats true for any prejudice.
      so good for you.
      thank you for coming out and thank you for commenting
      doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

