About ADD ADHD Medications—ADD Tip O the Day 584

Review of ADD ADHD Medications, Alternatives, and Issues

Over the next couple of months I plan to review medications for ADD ADHD, including alternatives,  This will be too basic and repetitive for some of you, so it will be every other post or so and the posts will include some other interesting stuff. Hopefully we’ll get some comments, elaboration and discussion,  some agreeing and some not so much.

The Anti- medication Faction

Some people don’t like to take any medications, some people just not for ADD ADHD. Some people don’t want to take stimulant medications.  Some people don’t vaccinate their children.  This is all generally due to a combination of a lack of information, possession of wrong information, and misunderstanding of information.

XXXXXXX XXXXX XX XXXXXX. I would like to be able respect everyone’s right to their opinions  without getting sarcastic. That’s why I just blocked out that sentence.  Admirable for someone with the impulsivity and poor social judgment of ADD ADHD.

Everyone Is Unique

Medications are extremely helpful to some people, sometimes a life-changing miracle. They’re somewhat helpful to some.   For some people, they’re either ineffective or have troubling side effects. In my opinion, medication is certainly worth a try to see how it will work or not for you.

Every person is unique and there’s a trial and error calibrating process of finding the right medication, the right dose, and the right scheduling for each person.

Here’s the plan:

(I would appreciate your comments or suggestions about the plan and reserve the right to change it.)

1. Stimulant medications.-Ritalin  etc.

2. Non-stimulant medications.-Strattera, etc.

3. Alternatives to medications:

            A. Alternative substances. -fish oil, etc.

            B. Alternatives to any substances.-exercises, etc.

4. Side effects and other difficulties.-insomnia, etc.

                  (The ugly truth about side effects.)

5. Safety- cardiovascular risks, etc.

6. Myths, misconceptions, and misunderstandings.- Oh, my!, etc.

doug

Quote O the Day:

‘Anyone who thinks he knows something just hasn’t caught on yet.’

St Paul     1 Corinthians 8:1-3

Links:

Myths about ADD ADHD

Meds vs Structure?

You are unique

ADD ADHD Medications are like cocaine and crystal meth

Bonus Tip O The Day:

from Homey – on coping with Overwhelmed

(You know about overwhelmed, don’t you?)

ADD ADHD,add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,medicine,medication,medications,alternatives,drugs,insomnia,side effects,controversy,controrversies

Is the insomnia from ADD ADHD or from the medicine?

 

 

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, controversies, medication, stimulants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to About ADD ADHD Medications—ADD Tip O the Day 584

  1. Pingback: Science and ADHD Meds — ADHD Tip O the Day 780 | ADDadultstrategies

  2. rammkatze says:

    Hi Doug. I’m looking forward to reading your take on the medication. I’m on medikinet (same as ritalin in the usa) for about a month now and it’s been a real struggle. It’s hard to figure out how much it has helped, especially because of the awful backlash about a week into a new dosage – my doctor (not my shrink) explained to me that it’s normal after I sought her due to an unmanageable rage attack at work. Somedays I swear I can see a real change, but I think a good deal of it comes from knowing ADD is the reason for certain aspects of my life and this blog has been a real life saver when it comes to feeling connected with people who feel the same.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ram- glad the blog is helping you. And the medication – there often is the question of finding the right medicine, the right dose, and the right timing, which can take a while.
      I used to have rage, but thankfully it is gone now. I still have a real problem with irritability and have to use a lot of strategies to try to deal with that.
      There are medications that can help with rage – have you looked up rage attacks on the net?
      there are also strategies. Do you have any warning signs at all just before a rage attack?
      thank you for commenting
      best wishes
      Doug

      Like

      • rosaleen82 says:

        Unfortunately, rage attacks are a rare occurence with me: I might get a very bad one once a year. And no warning signs, it just goes boom all of a sudden. I’m having my followup in two days – I’m still not on the dosage the psychiatrist wants me to – and looking forward to it. Though sadly, I’m not sure how many different medication we can test. ADHS has only been acknowledge as a condition for adults since 2011 and I think so far, only one meddication gets health insurance coverage. But here’s hoping I’ll see consisten results! I’ll defenitely check into strategies for rage and irritability. Thanks!

        Liked by 1 person

        • ram- I checked the net and you also want to look at intermittent explosive disorder, not that you have it,, but look at the treatment. Also note that some of the medicines are generic. Now, and maybe not so expensive.
          I’d also in thesuggest you really think hard with a mental microscope looking for any tiny indications of an impending attack – jaw is tight, face feels flushed, tension in neck, flutter in stomach, anything – and also try to identify the types of situations. If you have this kind of information, there’s a lot you can do.
          Best wishes
          Doug

          Like

          • rammkatze says:

            (oh, just realized I commented under another nick. I have an alternate blog where I can talk about my ADD if I feel like it, without some of my friends googling me) Thanks for the advice, Doug. I googled “Intermittent explosive disorder” and it was pretty scary – not only the description but also the fact that it feels so fammiliar. The triggers I can remember have all been too different to put in a bag: someone made a mistake and pawned it off on me, accusing me of not doing my job right; I got stuck with a high bill because a friend let me down (hard to explain, but it was a HUGE one, one I’ve never told about to anyone); repeated physical pain because of a door that just wouldn’t stay shut; unexpected overtime on a day when I had plans with friends. They all feel like irritability but tenfold – a quivering feeling between the chest and the throat and what feels like an awful adrenaline rush. Still, the last big one happened shortly after I stated taking ritalin and so far, it didn’t happen again. I’ll defenitely mention it in my consultation tomorrow. But some stuff… what can I tell you? The reason I’ve been undiagnosed for so long is mostly the fear of not being taken seriously. Thanks for being here for us, Doug!

            Liked by 1 person

            • ram – I’m pushing this point, but it it’s an important one. You describe very different situations and I agree, I don’t see a common thread, except for frustration.
              “They all feel like irritability but tenfold – a quivering feeling between the chest and the throat” – are there any seconds at all between the quivering feeling and the explosion? That could be very important.
              Best wishes
              Doug

              Like

          • rammkatze says:

            Oh, Doug! I just saw your reply, don’t know how I missed it in my mailbox. There are plenty of seconds. This bad quivering feeling just builds up and up and up until I really have to so something to release the energy and make it go away. The “something” can be self-harm (this one had several stages, the last of which I gave up on when I got a job where I need to change clothes in front of others. None left permanent marks, that was allways a point to consider for me), screaming very loudly (which I can’t do at home, but did once in a walk-in freezer at work) or destroying something. I had a big destructive one, about three years ago, where I still had time to run into the apparment (got bad news in the mailbox) and think “Don’t smack it on the harwood floor! You’ll lose the deposit! Do it on the tiles!”. The one I had about a month ago, I managed withouth screaming, self-harm or smacking anything. But after hiding for 5 minutes and breathing deep in and out, it didn’t resolve the situation (the feeling kept jolting back) so I said I was feeling sick to my stomach and left work for the doctor. In a way, I’m aware of the awful amount of pain it causes and aware that I can’t lash out, so I can actively force myself not to lash out, but this does absolutely nothing to solve the situation and rid myself of the feeling. Sorry about the long posts. My sentences might be neat, but I still have a hard time getting to the point. That’s one of the things I want to work on next…

            Liked by 1 person

            • ram- 1. this is very important, you have a warning, a signal before you have a blow up.
              this means you have control – you need a strategy for what to do, go outside and walk around the block, go lock yourself in your car and scream your head off, keep a supply of soda bottles you can break, or small cardboard boxes or empty soda cans can crush, or call a friend and rant, or whatever works.
              2. you may or may not tell your employer about your ADD, but maybe you can tell them you have “attacks” where you have to immediately leave and get fresh air, or whatever you figure out to tell them so you will have the option of abruptly walking out. Maybe you would get a note from your doctor saying this. You can figure it out.
              3. The point is, if you have this warning, then you have choices and control. You can figure out a way to discharge the tension that will not cost you. when you decide what works best, then you can make that a habit and give up the destructive and harmful things. (You may need more than one thing to work for different situations?)
              4. your posts are fine and I am glad you are contributing here.
              5. PS the time you said you had nausea and went to the doctor – a great strategy right there – what did you do then to release the tension?
              Best wishes
              Doug

              Like

  3. I have not been officially diagnosed with ADHD although we are all confident I have it. Up to this point I have been able to manage it without medication so that’s my choice. However, if it were to get much worse, I would get diagnosed and consider medication. I don’t like taking medicine so it would have to be really bad. But if it was necessary to function, I would do it.

    I’m going through menopause and dealing with depression. I finally asked my doctor for an antidepressant. It was really hard to do it but it made a HUGE difference in my daily life. HUGE. When things got tough again, but not as tough as before, I asked for an increase. I think I’ve found the right dosage for me and although I hate taking it, it really has made my life better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • homey- Good for you!
      I know it took some courage to take that chance and try the medication, and I’m glad that it does work so well for you. It doesn’t always work that well, but you never know until you try it.
      Similarly, you don’t know what ADD ADHD medicine might do until you try – maybe another huge difference. Or maybe nothing. I don’t believe there’s any medical or scientific reason for not trying it , unless possibly you have heart disease or hypertension. But not liking to take medicine is a reason.
      I don’t know why you hate taking an antidepressant that is helping you so much? But you do.
      The finding the right dose is often an issue, glad you got it.
      As always, thank you for commenting – you add a lot !
      Best wishes
      Doug

      Like

    • I actually do have hypertension. I’ve battled it since I was in my twenties. It’s under control but I do take medication for it.

      I have considered looking into medication for ADHD but our insurance doesn’t cover much so I haven’t.

      I just don’t liking taking medicine because of the side effects. The antidepressant hasn’t had any noticeable effects. Neither has my no medicine.

      However, if my ADHD continues to worsen I will look into options

      Liked by 1 person

      • Homey –the hypertension would be an issue. It doesn’t mean you can’t take the medicines, just that the blood pressure would need to be watched.
        Side effects are always a potential problem, but as you noted with the antidepressant, you may not get them.
        if the medicine does cause side effects, that can usually be managed by the dosing, the timing, or changing to a different medicine if necessary. It is rare that someone would need to stay on a medicine and suffer the side effects, and that would certainly not be the case with you
        best wishes
        Doug

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

