An Excess of Blessings From ADD ADHD – – – ADD Tip O the Day 582

Gifts, Benefits, and Blessings of ADD ADHD

Have exhausted this topic for a moment. Got lots of good comments on both sides of the question.  Thank you.

But –

I am overly blessed with the gifts of creativity and wide range of interests. There’s so much I want to do and I’m not good at setting priorities or saying no to myself.

I’m not feeling overwhelmed but overloaded.  Some sense of pressure, even since I “retired”. How did I ever find time to work?

To Do

Here’s what I’m trying to do, listed from daily to less often:

Quiet time (prayer, meditation, journaling, Bible), read the papers, exercise, emails, Spanish (duolingo), guitar,reading two books,cocktail hour with Martha, evening movie with Martha, helping teach AP psychology (lots of work, challenging, time-consuming, enjoyable), blog, write autobiography, marketing books, seeking locums jobs, church, errands and tasks and chores, Kairos prison ministry, Cruzada men’s group, PERA job,planning long trip, to say nothing of eating and trying to get enough sleep.

My days are only 24 hours long.

Give Something Up

That’s one strategy. I gave up chess several years ago. Now I’m giving up studying genetics. I’ve pared my email connections way down. There’s nothing else I want to drop, but then I didn’t really want to drop chess or genetics, either.

Strategies –Plug away, et. al.

Plug away is a strategy. I can only do what I can do. Try to watch priorities.

So much is attitude. If I can stay aware of what’s going on and just keep plugging away, it’s actually all fine.

Plans

I’m planning to do an intermittent series covering medications for ADD ADHD– to take them or not? stimulants. nonstimulants. alternatives.

Any suggestions are  very welcome.

Doug

Whine O the Day:

Some days it seems like half my time is spent trying to find things I’ve misplaced and the other half trying to find things someone has moved.

Bonus Links

Videos on ADD ADHD   I don’t watch  videos, but I would guess that these are good.

On the ADD ADHD gifts benefits controversy     one  two   three  four

On overloaded and overwhelmed    one   two three  four

Where does all the time go?
Where does all the time go?

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, attitudes, controversies, dysfunctions, marriage, medication, stimulants and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to An Excess of Blessings From ADD ADHD – – – ADD Tip O the Day 582

  1. I’m pretty good about limiting the areas I let myself get involved in. But I still think I can do way more than I can.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Vicki says:

    Thanks for commenting, Ram. Yes, I can relate. Speaking in person does seem to give more opportunity to get clarity.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Scott Marckx says:

    Thanks Doug for another great post!
    As for giving things up, sometimes that can be a seasonal thing, like not boating so much in the winter or reading less in the summer. Sometimes all the interests happen in the same season though, like music and boating and gardening…
    Sometimes though, I’ll let go of an interest for a while and then it will come back a year or more later and I get a fresh start on it, while letting something else go.

    All the best,
    Scott

    Liked by 1 person

    • Scott – yeah, I’m not doing any fishing right now. Worried a little about how I’ll fit it in when the weather gets better. getting outdoors is a good strategy for ADD ADHD.
      It’s an interesting question – with ADD ADHD, we tend to start off full blast and full of enthusiasm for a new activity, and then as we master it, and the novelty wears off, we lose interest. How much of this is a problem? And which part of it?
      If you can come back to it later, and if you can let go of something else, it sounds okay?
      Thank you for your comments.
      Doug

      Like

  4. rammkatze says:

    Hi. ADD is a too recent diagnosis that I can see the good rather than look for the things that are probably a consequence and that I can finally manage. Although, it came to mind that due to my short temperedness towards people, I over the years trained myself to really come to grips with what’s bothering me about someone and how much of an impact that particular thing has on me. This has led me to have a very small circle of very tolerant friends and strenght enough to say “Sorry, I’m just feeling weird today, don’t take it personal!” when I’m lashing out on the inside.
    What worries me though is: what do ADD people do at work? It’s now clear to me, why I have so many burn marks on my forearms (pastry cook) but it’s also painfully clear why I have so much trouble juggling some tasks and how bad it it when someone notices it and starts nitpicking and saying “do this and don’t forget that and have you thought about that thing?” – it sends me tumbling down in a nervous and angry frenzy that makes me make one mistake after the other. I also recently lost my full time job because of – I’m sure – lashing out at my boss a couple of months ago – she deserved ALL of it, if I might say. But it’s a real struggle at work and I allways find tips for the private life only. How do we do it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ram-
      that’s a very big question! Some of it has been addressed in previous posts.
      Here’s some current ideas –
      1. Find the right job for you – generally, we need jobs that are structured but variable, not too repetitive
      2. I do not work well with close supervision, like you described. I have mostly been blessed with bosses who tell me the task and then leave me alone. Not always possible though. That stuff drives me crazy too, just like you describe.
      3. when my wife does that, I try to remember that she loves me and is trying to help me, and that her past experience with me indicates that she does need to watch what I’m doing and remind me, and that sometimes it is indeed helpful. It’s still hard to take.
      4. Explain to the bosses/supervisors that you have ADD ADHD,, and you need to write everything down. Then write down all their directions every time. maybe you can also ask them not to give you too many directions at once, maybe just this step and the next one.
      5. If you can find a qualified ADD, ADHD coach, they may help you with this,and also give you a place to vent your anger and frustration.
      6. Remember the extreme importance of exercise and sufficient sleep, and also try to structure your day is much as possible and to spend some time outdoors.
      Best wishes
      Doug

      Liked by 1 person

      • rammkatze says:

        Thanks, Doug! You’ve given me some food for thought. I’ve been doing most of what you said, though I still have a hard time being strict to myself and stick to the plan, i.e. the strategies I choose. The worst part is telling the bosses about my ADD. I feel like, right now, I have a better shot if I don’t come straight out with it – I already tried to come out with my ADD in my private life and it backfired; it’s kind of a sore subject right now. An ADD coach might be a long-term solution for me, though I’m not sure such a person exists in Germany. I’ll have to ask my psychiatrist about it in the followup next week. Anger and short temperedness towards people is, funny enough, the think that made the red flags go up with my psychiatrist. And spending time outdoors. Yes. I REALLY need to pick up on that. Thank you so much! I look forward to reading some more extensive articles about dealing with the work life having ADD!

        Like

  5. Vicki says:

    Doug, I appreciate your honesty. I am not good at saying no to myself, nor at getting rid of activities that I find interesting. And I just keep adding more! Oh well, I am glad my mind is active! I don’t think I would like to have no interests!

    The medication series would be welcome. There is this one out there that I think is too expensive and too long. 5 sessions of 1-1/2 hours each seems like too much info to me, although I’m sure there would be many good things to know and learn. http://www.coachingforadhd.com/adhd-medications-teleclass/?inf_contact_key=bae63fe0a25cb777a25ca34f5d57a2921634e915412a45847fec0767fd4ba73f

    I am just trying new meds, and I’ve run into trouble where I don’t trust myself that I got all the dosing info correctly from my doc, then I hate to call and bug her. So I asked the pharmacist, and got what turned out to be wrong info, due to his lack of knowledge, about how to take my stimulant med.

    I don’t know how much uniformity is out there on how to take the meds, and describing the process of discovering your right dosage. But basic accurate professional information would be really useful unless different psychiatrists vary widely in how they prescribe meds. It’s hard to know who to trust.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Vicki – sorry you’ve had the med trouble. I will start covering the meds soon, one post at a time, free. and will try to answer any questions.
      the basic point is, everyone is unique, so there is no set med or dose or schedule that works for everyone. you have to try trial and error to find out what’s right for you.
      and the meds don’t work for everyone, but they can be extremely helpful
      I might suggest you try to get over being concerned about bugging your doctor; that’s their job. If they’re not responsive, then probably you need a new doctor – but I know that’s easy to say.
      thank you for commenting.
      Doug

      Like

      • Vicki says:

        Thanks, Doug. I have a wonderful doctor, am very lucky to have found her. She gives me great information, and I think I will try recording it next time, so I can be sure what I heard. I’ve been taking notes but I have some auditory processing issues so they get jumbled. It seems that the pharmacists don’t all know as much about these meds as would be helpful, so I will also work to get over my concern. My doc and my therapist are my best sources of accurate information. I would also appreciate reading your info on meds. Thank you for making this forum available!

        Like

    • rammkatze says:

      Hi Vicki. Couldn’t help but reading your reply and tell you that I see myself in this “I hat to call him and bug him”. Like Doug says, it’s his job and they have to be responsive. Me, I’m not sure my aversion to calling someone up has anything to do with ADD (I had this problem long before I was diagnosed) but I found it helped me to go to a place instead of calling me. It was somehow easyer to spend one hour going back and forth because I felt people would _see_ me and both parties would understand each other better because of it. Hope it helps.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

