It’s In the Cards – Another ADD ADHD Strategy — ADD Tip O the Day 579

New Year, new strategies, maybe the novelty helps

You may know that I’m a big fan of index cards.  My system of  colored cards I keep in my shirt pocket. I call that half my brain. The other half of my brain, I call Martha.

Scott has given me another use of index cards, and I really like it.

I got this strategy from Scott:

… one thing I’m trying is I have a pile of 3X5 cards with quotes I have collected on them. Each day or so I take the card from the top and put it on the bottom, revealing a new quote for the day. When I find something that works (and remember to do this) I sometimes write it down as if it were a quote and put it in the pile so I will run into it some day in the future. Sometimes that gets me started doing it again. Also, I don’t always put the old card on the bottom of the pile. If it is something I want to run into again sooner I will put it somewhere in the middle of the pile.

Mottoes, Tips, Strategies, Prompts, Quotes?

I keep the cards on my desk where they’re easily seen. I’m not sure what to call them. Recently I had a week of feeling pressured, overloaded and over whelmed, and that’s when I started using the cards.  They have helped.

Sample Cards

Focus on the positive.

Take it easy.

What does it matter?

Plug away.

Prioritize.

We’ve learned that our brain can generate new brain cells. Yea! So maybe this is a third part of my brain.

doug

Bonus Spanish verb O the day:

zumbar – to buzz, hum, flutter around

That’s kind of what I was doing.

 

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD,New Year, strategy,strategies,card,cards,system,brain

A New Card Strategy

IMG_2072

ADD,ADHD,attention deficit,adult ADD,adult ADHD,New Year, strategy,strategies,card,cards,system,brain

 

Bonus links:

save one hour a day – from julie

The Colored Card System

Using the Colored card System

 

 

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s In the Cards – Another ADD ADHD Strategy — ADD Tip O the Day 579

  1. I like it! I love quotes and sayings and find they really do motivate and encourage me. For a while I was writing them on my planner pages.

    I also included funny stuff that made me laugh. Sometimes you just need to lighten up and laugh.

    Like

    • Homey – on your planner pages should work, because I know you look at them many times a day. Did you change or did you just quit doing something that worked?
      Laughing is great. Think I will try adding that to my cards.
      As always, thank you for your comments.
      Doug

      Like

  2. Lisa @ The Meaning of Me says:

    “The other half of my brain, I call Martha.” I can understand that! My Daughter actually talks about having a “good brain” and “bad brain.” Sometimes I question the terms, but it works for her and it helps her express whether she’s focused or not. Interesting for one so young, I think.
    Anyway, I love the card idea. I love quotes and I love calendars or whatever that have them printed right on. But this system with the reminders slipped in is genius – I may just have to try that!

    Like

    • lisa – i have to tell you that the other half of my brain, Martha, is my wife. she is the one who is able to remember things.
      your daughter sounds neat!
      I am liking the card system. the idea came from Scott
      thank you for commenting
      doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

