Benefits of ADD ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 568

ADD ADHD as a gift?

Christmas makes us think of gifts, hopefully among other things, and that reminds me of those who write about enjoying the gift of ADD ADHD.

Yes, we do tend to be creative, think outside the box, be able to multiple task, and have exciting lives – if you call jumping from catastrophe to catastrophe exciting.

And I do appreciate those aspects, but in honesty, if my ADD ADHD is a gift, I would like to know where I could return it.

Here is an example from a book blurb:

Making ADHD a Gift advocates that individuals with ADHD use their disorder to maximize attention span, improve social skills, harness impulsivity, and turn hyperactivity into periods of extreme productivity

Personally, I do enjoy the occasional hyper productivity, especially when it is  on something that is in fact productive, but I don’t understand how I can use my weaknesses to improve my weaknesses.??  But, I haven’t read the book.

Research from the net:

I did a little research on ADD ADHD being a gift, and most of it seems to be saying to realize and utilize your strengths, don’t think of yourself as a loser and a victim, and when you recognize the problems your ADD ADHD  is causing you, come up with strategies to cope with them rather than being destroyed by them. Nothing there I would disagree with, except the original concept of the gift.

Being positive about ADD ADHD

So to me, when I recognize my ADD ADHD problems, I’m not being negative, I’m being positive, because then I can come up with strategies for them. And still appreciate and use my strengths, and find the kind of job or activities that are best suited for me.

doug

from Edwin Brodin – 4 surprising benefits of having ADD ADHD

Bonus links:

I decided not to include them, because overall, they didn’t make much sense to me. Sorry.

Question o the Day:

What is your position on this question?  Are you grateful for your gift of ADD ADHD?     Do you acknowledge the problems so you can cope with them?

But I'll never forget your face!  I won't be able to put it into context, or know how i know you.... what did you say you name was, again?

Is this a gift?

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, attitudes, controversies, dysfunctions, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Benefits of ADD ADHD — ADD Tip O the Day 568

  1. Pingback: An Excess of Blessings From ADD ADHD – – – ADD Tip O the Day 582 | ADDadultstrategies

  2. Pingback: Do We Really Need More Controversy About ADD ADHD Benefits and Gifts? — ADD ADHD Tip O the Day 481 | ADDadultstrategies

  3. Pingback: You Can Keep Your @#$##@@ Benefits! – – – ADD Tip O the Day 575 | ADDadultstrategies

  4. Pingback: The Gifts and Benefits of ADD ADHD, Again – ADD Tip O the Day 570 | ADDadultstrategies

  5. Scott Marckx says:

    I consider ADD a gift at least for me. It helps me see different perspectives, come up with twisty connections for things “Normal” people wouldn’t consider connected, helps me get interested in all sorts of cool things and see how other people can enjoy those things. I love it when I get hyperfocused on a project and dealing with ADD has helped me find yet one more reason I need to get regular exercise (that reason actually finally got me to exercise regularly!)
    Yes, dealing with the downside of ADD can be a pain. Going after every “shiny” thing keeps me from getting the things done that I care about. But I still manage to get a few things finished here and there and life goes on. I would never trade what I’ve been given with my ADD, problems and all, for being “normal”. I’m pretty spoiled though. I think my ADD helps in too many ways that the normal literature doesn’t seem to quantify.

    Like

  6. I agree – it’s not a gift. I’d much rather NOT have it or have the option, like you said, of returning it! But it is what it is. I guess thinking of it as a gift makes it less offensive and easier to swallow.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The only time my ADHD is a gift is when I become microfocused on something that I actually need to get done! That rarely happens. Usually I microfocus on whatever shiny thing is most entertaining at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. D K Powell says:

    I can see both sides to this! I loved the quote at the end – that is so very me! The great thing about living in Bangladesh was that no one uses their given name – everyone is ‘brother’ or ‘aunty’ and so on. It made life very easy for me!

    I DO see my ADHD as a gift but that’s because it enables me to work at very high speed and have interests in many, many fascinating subject (several of which gave me a wonderfully varied career as a teacher and now come in useful to me as a freelance writer). I’m not unaware of my issues (ask my wife to find out ALL of them 😉 ) but overall if you could give me a pill to make it go away I wouldn’t take it. I love my ADHD – its the best present life/God/fate ever gave me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • ken – thank you for showing the other side. I too like the hyper work when i can focus it and the varied interests when i can do anything with any of them instead of trying to ride off in all directions at once, and when I’m not trying to schedule 36 hours of stuff to do into 12 hours of wake time and when I can prioritize the ones that will pay off, but I wonder if my issues don’t outweigh my benefits. I’m not sure, I also like the creativity.
      So if the pill took away the ADD, would it also take away all the good things? Probably?
      I think I would take it.
      however, that is not an option because there is no such pill, so I’m happy with the Ritalin. That helps me focus enough to get some things done and doesn’t take away anything, and helps me focus enough to use the strategies to cope with the other stuff.
      Thank you for your insightful comment.
      Doug

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Gail – I hope tomorrow will be much better. Just because we can cope and survive. I don’t think that makes it a gift? If my legs amputated, and I learned to walk on a prosthesis, does that make the amputation a gift?
    But, on the other hand, I agree, there are a lot of things much worse than ADD ADHD, so we can be grateful.
    Thank you for commenting.
    Doug

    Like

  10. Gail B says:

    Interesting concept. Not sure about ADHD being a gift. On the days when life does not go as planned, such as forgetting an important task, I am reminded (again and again) that I have to take extra measures to survive in the world. Perhaps ADHD is a gift when you actively participate in surving the common everyday events? But then, I know so many different people who have to adjust for something. I do feel fortunate at times that I can usually deal with life’s events by adding structure.

    Today was not one of the better days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

