A Little of Everything —Tip o the Day 555

Mottoes

One of my favorite mottoes  is, “If I can’t see it, it doesn’t exist.”

My wife’s favorite motto is, “I cannot stand clutter!”

Can you see where this is heading?

Of course I have other mottoes, “Do it now, do it right, do the hard part first.”

But if I can’t see it, I’m likely not to do it at all.

Willpower?

Halloween has come and went.

Are you aware that there are some people who can eat just a little bit of candy?

Amazing!

 ADD,ADHD,adult ADD,adult ADHD,attention deficit,strategies,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,life with ADD,life with ADHD,self-control, lack of self control, willpower,lack of willpower,clutter

      Michael and London trick or treat

Context

We learn in context.

I put my password into the computer at least three times a day without even thinking. When we went to the weekend resort, I couldn’t remember it.

It’s called state dependent learning.

doug

Bonus links:

I’ve written on willpower a lot. Maybe it’s an important issue?

one          two          three           four      five      six         seven      eight

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little of Everything —Tip o the Day 555

  1. State dependent learning – interesting.

    The light on my car’s shifter went out a while back. When I use the shifter during the day, I never even look at it. But at night, now that the light is out, I want to look but I can’t see and I always put it in neutral. Guess state dependent learning is why. Good to know.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Homey – interesting. Need example. You could shift at night without even using the light until you knew that the light was out, then you desperately needed it. Right?
      Thanks for your interesting comments.
      Doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

