Homey’s 10 ADD ADHD Strategies — ADD Tip o the Day 553

Great post

Homey put up such a great ADD ADHD post that I was tempted to just copy it here, but that didn’t seem quite right.  So I’ll compromise, and just copy one of her strategies:

  1. Focus. Nearly everyone with ADD/ADHD has trouble with this one.  It’s the nature of the condition, unfortunately.  This past Friday it took me all day to clean the kitchen.  I kept getting distracted.  I’ve opened half the curtains on the living room windows but forgotten to open the other half.  I’ve fixed milk for my grandkids and left it on the counter.  I’ve given one of them their milk but not the other.  I’ve left the refrigerator open.  Yes, I get distracted.  A lot.  Unfortunately this one is a tough one to fix.  But I have a few strategies that help:  Solution:  (1)  Sometimes I set a timer to work on a certain task.  If I get distracted by something else, I talk myself into waiting until the timer goes off.  (2)  I try to schedule my day in specific blocks.  For example, I prefer to have:

Blogging Time
Cooking Time
Chore Time
Etc.

If I’m trying to do only one type of task, it’s easier to focus.  If I’m trying to do a little of this and a little of that, it’s really easy to get distracted.  (3)  This strategy seems contradictory to the last one but it really does work.  Sometimes, instead of a traditional to-do list, I make a list of 5 things I can do right now.  I choose one of the tasks, go do it, come back and mark it off.  Then I choose another, go do it, come back and mark it off.  I repeat that process until all five are done.  When they’re all done, I make a list of 5 more.  This can be really effective.

ADD ADHD Strategies

This is full of strategies, did you see them? –  structure, focus on one, limit to do list to five, stay on track (I write down the distracting idea for later.)

Homey’s list of 10 includes strategies for overwhelm, which is what I’m dealing with right now, and one of the reasons it’s so tempting to just copy Homey’s post.

I recommend it to you.

doug

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,strategies,

Distractions, anyone?

 Homey’s 10 ADD ADHD strategies

Bonus strategy:

My wife just pointed out that we haven’t had a vacation in a year! When I’m overdue on a vacation, I get irritable, grouchy, even less efficient, even more distractible, and even more prone to feeling overwhelmed.

I need to plan a vacation now.

Bonus links:

On focus

Another on focus

Coming soon:

Homey’s tip on overwhelm.

Too many cards!

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, distraction, dysfunctions, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homey’s 10 ADD ADHD Strategies — ADD Tip o the Day 553

  1. Pingback: The ADD ADHD Year In Review –– – ADD Tip O the Day 572 | ADDadultstrategies

  2. Thanks for the mention, Doug. I couldn’t live without strategies.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

