Coping with Turmoil — ADD Tip o the Day 552

Arghhhh!! ADD ADHD and all this too!

We’re selling our house and moving to a wonderful community, El Castillo.            We’re excited about it.

But at the moment, it’s like living in a hurricane and an earthquake at the same time.

We’re restaging our house – i.e., totally rearranging – for better showing.

Each showing means cleaning, neating, and shoving everything into drawers and closets. A headache.

Then bring it all back out so we can actually live here, until the next showing.

And monitoring the remodeling of our new apartment.

In the meantime, I’m trying to keep up with my quiet time, exercise, writing, blogging, learning new medicines, learning new Spanish songs for church,  studying Spanish and guitar.

Oh, my!

Strategies for turmoil:

1. Realize and accept that I can’t do it all; this is not life as usual.

2. Make the quiet time and the exercise priorities; then try to do one thing after that.

Puryear’s rules of human nature number three (or maybe it’s number four. I can’t keep up with them) –”When we’re under stress, the first thing we do is give up doing the things that help us cope with stress.”

3. We’re going to take a few days off and go to a resort, and do nothing. Taking breaks is a great strategy.

Puryear’s rule of human nature number five or so:

  “Nothing will test a marriage like moving.”

Oh, by the way:

Oh, by the way, did I mention that this blog was listed in the top 10 ADHD blogs of 2014?

Did I mention that it was number one?

I am grateful and just a little proud, but I don’t want to brag.  Do I?

doug

Top 10 ADHD  blogs

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention, deficit,strategies,add and stress,adhd and stress,coping

Everything’s coming up roses!

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Coping with Turmoil — ADD Tip o the Day 552

  1. Well done Doug, I have been following your excellent blog for some time, but only recently started to comment. I bought your book (Your Life Can be Better) a few years ago and found your advice and strategies very useful for dealing with my happy but dysfunctional ADD approach to life. So this accolade of you coming top of the class is a good time to say thank you.
    Regarding the move,….. just been there and done that! You have my undying sympathy, my orderly and organised wife did most of the work of packing, just delegating the rooms with my personal books and “stuff” to me. I just couldn’t face most of it, getting so distracted by finding old memories as I tried to pack. It was so hard to discard anything, but that was also the point of downsizing to make my life more manageable. It was all a last minute panic in the end, with the saving grace of her employing a local handyman to help us pack up, as I was so slow.
    So glad it’s over now and very happy in our much smaller home! I’m much better with the “KISS” principle: Keep It Simple Stupid!
    All the best,
    Steve

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations! I love your blog so I’m not a bit surprised.

    Moving doesn’t have to be stressful – you just need to do it more often and then you get really good at it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Scott Marckx says:

    Congratulations Doug! I know your blog has been very helpful for me. Thank you for doing it. Also, good luck and blessings with your move and all the stress of it. Maybe it will even bring new insights?
    All the best,
    Scott

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Good job Doug. You should be glad. I would insist a parade be thrown in my honor. I am proud to know you my friend. I shared this post to my group and my adhd people page. You deserve it. You have a blog work ethic i see in few others. Good luck on the move.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

