I Don’t Wash Wine Glasses – – – ADD Tip O the Day 550

Identify the problem

Every time I put wine glasses in the dishwasher, no matter how I do it, they break.

That’s just part of my ADD ADHD.

Make a strategy

I do not put wine glasses in the dishwasher anymore. I rinse them and set them on the counter for my wife to take care of.

Make it a rule

Do Not Put Wine Glasses In The Dishwasher!

Make it a habit

I never put wine glasses in the dishwasher. 

Now that it’s a habit, I don’t even have to think about it anymore.

Most of life consists of little things

This is just one example of the kind of little things that can pile up to make life more aggravating and difficult if we have ADD ADHD.  When we can identify a problem, and apply the principle – problem, strategy, rule, habit – then our life does go better.

Doug

Puryear’s second corollary to Murphy’s Law

If it can be broken, I’ll do it.

Comment:

One of the reasons I love Spanish -“Se rompio’ el vaso.”  The glass broke itself.

Bonus Links:

Great new free little easy ADD ADHD book -highly recommmended!

Clumsy, dyscoordination, and so on

 

ADD,ADHD,adult ADD,adult ADHD,attention deficit,strategies,coping with ADD,coping with ADHD,life with ADD,life with ADHD

See, this one didn’t get broken yet. Lunch in Paris.

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Don’t Wash Wine Glasses – – – ADD Tip O the Day 550

  1. Alissa says:

    “se me ha olvidado” is another favorite: it has forgotten itself…to me

    Like

  2. Peter Westra says:

    the clumsiness angle is interesting. My dad has ADHD and extremely clumsy; he always struggled with fixing things at home but somehow managed–mainly because he didn’t want to pay someone else to do it. I follow in my dad’s footsteps on the ADHD front but I’m quite handy, as long as I apply myself and concentrate on the task. For me it’s all about focus, concentrating on for instance holding a pair of pliers or securing a bolt. So by realising that it was a concentration problem I improved my dexterous skills. And that was before my ADHD diagnoses three years ago. Now if only I could apply that to the lapses in my memory and absentmindedness 😉

    Like

  3. peter says:

    the clumsiness angle is interesting. My dad has ADHD and extremely clumsy; he always struggled with fixing things at home but somehow managed–mainly because he didn’t want to pay someone else to do it. I follow in my dad’s footsteps on the ADHD front but I’m quite handy, as long as I apply myself and concentrate on the task. For me it’s all about focus, concentrating on for instance holding a pair of pliers or securing a bolt. So by realising that it was a concentration problem I improved my dexterous skills. And that was before my ADHD diagnoses three years ago. Now if only I could apply that to the lapses in my memory and absentmindedness 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • peter- that’s a great example of recognizing the specific problem, holding the tool, and then being able to focus. my current theory is that the ADD ADHD live in the basal ganglia and the cerebellum which helps account for the frequent coexisting clumsiness?
      The memory and absent-minded need other strategies.
      thank you for commenting.
      Doug

      Like

  4. Homey – I definitely think it’s ADD. Combination of clumsiness and inattention? Clumsiness is a basic component of ADD, but is very correlated with it. I believe.
    So the question is, how are you managing to do better? a strategy?
    Thanks for commenting.
    Doug

    Like

  5. Okay. I had to laugh because my family is notorious for breaking glass. David and I got a set of 6 crystal wine glasses when we got married and we broke them all within months. We had a set of glass dishes and broke most of them. I bought a new set of wine glasses and my daughter (who has ADHD) broke one the first day. I had a set of plates and I broke 5 at one time. My kids heard the crash and came running. All the plates were on the floor. The chipped ones, of course, didn’t break. By then I had started crying. My kids looked at me and said: “I’m glad we didn’t do that.” We ended up using plastic for a long time. We’re back to glass and doing a lot better.

    I know the point of your article wasn’t about breaking glass, but could it be an ADD thing? Cause we all have it (except husband) and we sure break a lot of glass!

    Your strategy – problem, strategy, rule, habit – definitely makes life could better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

