Doing the Easy Thing – – – ADD Tip O the Day 547

The easy thing in ADD ADHD

I’m working on the fourth draft of the fourth book and toying with the fifth and sixth books.     The writing is fairly easy,  enjoyable, therapeutic, and always rewards me  with a sense of accomplishment when I get a few pages done.

Other things I need to do are less enticing and are piling up.                                                    (is this what Homey means by “need to accomplish” below?)

It’s just  too easy to sit down and write on the book, doing what I want to do instead of what I need to do.

Does that sound familiar?

Strategy

I’m working off my list, and trying to get at least one needed thing done before I reward myself by letting myself do more writing.

But note

Usually it’s better to do the hard thing first, but sometimes if you’re really stuck, doing the easy thing is a good ADD ADHD strategy.

Homey’s tips on time management

my comments are in italics

Just because you can doesn’t mean you should.  just because something needs to be done doesn’t mean that God is calling you to be the one to do it

My day goes much better when I follow my plan rather than follow my desires (or distractions).   this is the extremely relevant one for me today

When planning tomorrow, don’t just list “to-do’s” – also list things you need to accomplish to-do’s.   I don’t quite understand this one, hope homey will explain

As far as my daily tasks, I do MOST of them MOST of the time but not ALWAYS.  MOST of the time is good enough.  ALWAYS is unattainable.  good enough is good enough

When planning your day, keep in mind how much time things take. You can’t do a 4-hour project if you only have 2 hours.    yes! And you won’t be able to get  two days worth of to-do’s done in half a day

Keep your planner OPEN and nearby and look at it often. You’ll be amazed how much more productive you are.     or your appointment book or red card to-do list or whatever system you use. You do have a system, don’t you?

doug

add,adhd,adult add,adult adhd,attention deficit,to do,to-do

Loaded down with opinions and choices. Some days, the load is too heavy.

Homey’s blog

Great bonus link:

You can only understand if you have ADD ADHD

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, dysfunctions, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Doing the Easy Thing – – – ADD Tip O the Day 547

  1. “When planning tomorrow, don’t just list “to-do’s” – also list things you need to accomplish to-do’s.” I don’t quite understand this one, hope homey will explain.

    Glad you asked, Doug. It doesn’t quite make sense now that I read it here. What I meant was that sometimes you also need to include the things you need to take or get or find. When I take the grandkids to school after they spend the night at my house, I write a reminder (or I did at first – now I remember) to get their backpacks. I put “take kids to school” on my list – and next to it, “get backpacks”. When I take them home, I put that on my calendar and next to it I write: “Don’t forget Calvie’s blanket.” When I went to my daughter’s the other day, I put “take coke”. Stuff like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Homey
      thanks for clarifying. I do that too. If I just put the thing to do down. I will never remember the stuff that I need to do to get the thing to do.done.
      that’s a good tip, I will try to work again. Maybe later.
      Thanks again
      Doug

      Like

Leave a Reply

