I didn’t listen to the little voice! — ADD Tip o the Day 534

I didn’t listen

I’m  only on draft number three in writing the new book, which includes some on  adult ADD ADHD .

In Word, I cut a very large segment from one document to paste into another doc.      Before I got it pasted I must’ve done something else, because when I went to paste it,        it was gone. A very large segment. Gone.

I remembered a window had popped up, “You have just placed a large amount of data on the clipboard: do you want to save it for other operations?”

Just before I clicked no, I heard the voice in my head saying, “Don’t do that.”

Clicked no anyway

Gone. Tried lots of things; really gone.

ADD ADHD strategies:

1.Listen to the little voice!  It’s trying to help.

2. Use Copy, not Cut. Can delete later.

Second incident:

After church, went out to pick the rest of the peaches. The little voice said I shouldn’t do that in my church clothes. Ignored it. Got away with it this time! Think it’s a trick to get me to keep ignoring voice; catastrophe will follow.

Follow up:

The good news is I have been using the strategy of frequently clicking save, so I hadn’t lost as much as I originally feared. Will keep using strategy.

doug

bonus link

Bonnie on the four D’s of ADD ADHD;

especially for students, but not just for students. We all got it.

add, adhd,adult add, adult adhd, attention deficit,ADD strategies,ADHD strategies

It could be worse, but saying that doesn’t help.

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, strategies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I didn’t listen to the little voice! — ADD Tip o the Day 534

  1. Bad things happen when you ignore the little voice or get in a hurry and don’t think things through.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Scott Marckx says:

    Hi Doug,
    We’ve all been there and done that. I’m sorry you lost some of your work. I know though that the new version that you write to replace it will be even better than what you lost.
    All the best, Scott

    Liked by 1 person

    • Scott –
      thank you for the support. I’m so glad I didn’t lose as much as I feared, because I was saving (a lesson hard learned) , and you’re right, it was easy to replace it because I just finished writing it, and it was clear in my mind (surprise!)
      Thanks for the comment.
      Doug

      Like

  3. Jonathon- i’m using a PC, but i have drop box and will try to figure how to use it. good tip.
    and Thank you for commenting.
    doug

    Like

    • Jonathan Roehm says:

      Hi Doug! Here’s some information I found on dropbox (your comment was emailed to me and made me think: ‘I know the answer to this. I will reply… Do it. Do it now.’)

      The feature on dropbox is called “Packrat” (here: https://www.dropbox.com/help/113)
      There’s a section called “Upgrading to Packrat”; that section has all the info you need to add this feature to your dropbox account.

      Here’s how to use it to recover files you’ve lost and older versions of files:
      https://www.dropbox.com/help/11

      I hope this is useful, or that someone else might find this useful!

      Like

  4. Jonathan Roehm says:

    Great tips! As a Mac OS X user, I’ve found the built in time machine feature to be a signicant ally in my hasty deletions, ill-conceived reorganizations of music libraries… And beyond. Just wanted to add my $0.02 that if you had time machine (and had a recent save with the info there) you might (as I have been able to) recover everything! Not a full-proof failsafe… But definitely good to have in your toolbelt! 🙂

    Like

    • I wanted to add that if you use Dropbox; it has a premium feature in there that stores every version (saved) for a few versions back. I’ve begun to live out of Dropbox because of this.

      Like

Leave a Reply

