Daytrana Patch (Ritalin) — ADD Tip o the Day 520

My Daytrana patch is helping.

This is Ritalin absorbed through the skin. It gives me more control and doesn’t have the G.I. side effects I get from Ritalin. But I need to remember to take it off early, so that hopefully I can get to sleep at night (that’s another topic).

But I don’t remember.  

strategy:

So I set the alarm on my wonderful iPhone for 1:30.

procedure:

1. Set alarm for 1:30

2. Alarm rings.

3. Turn off alarm.

4. Set iPhone to the side.

5. Say, “Oh yes, I need to take off the Daytrana patch.”

6. Do something else instead.

7. Try to figure out how to cope with insomnia.

New strategy:

1. Set alarm for 1:30 and also for 1:40

2. Take off patch when alarm rings

3. Try to figure out how to cope with insomnia – but it’s not as bad.

Principle:

When what you’re doing isn’t working, try doing something different.

Doug                 add,adult add,adult adhd,ritalin,daytrana,stimulants,add and insomnia,adhd and insomnia

bonus link

homey on processing mail

 

 

 

Nearly bedtime

 

 

 

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, ADD strategies, adhd, ADHD problems, ADHD strategies, distraction, medication, procrastination and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Daytrana Patch (Ritalin) — ADD Tip o the Day 520

  1. Katy Rollins says:

    I really liked Daytrana until I developed an allergy to the adhesive. My “cue” for remembering to take it off was being in my car driving home from work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • katy – yes, i think i have an allergic reaction too. it usually isnt bad, and when it is i just put on a little steroid cream. works so far.
      i like your “cue”, same as I call “anchor”.
      thank you for commenting.
      doug

      Like

  2. homey – thanks. wish i could do it more often, hard to remember sometimes.
    thank you for commenting
    doug

    Like

  3. homemakersdaily says:

    “When what you’re doing isn’t working, try doing something different.” Brilliant.

    Like

Leave a Reply

