Retirement, Time, and Other ADD ADHD Illusions — ADD Tip o the Day 518

With ADD, ADHD, we tend to be interested in a lot of different things.

When we moved to Santa Fe, I planned to cut down my practice. Then I would have time to do things on my wish list, like woodworking, painting, hiking, etc.

Not!

I wound up doing my own bookkeeping, secretarial work, and screwing around with the insurance companies. My practice quickly became a full-time job.

Then I retired.

Now I will have time to do all the things on my wish list.

Not!

Almost everything I’m doing, I’m doing because I want to, and I’m enjoying it. I have no complaints. But my “free time” is pretty well taken up with writing my new book, and there’s not that much free time to start with.

With ADD ADHD, we need to set priorities, limit the number of projects we try to do at once, and accept that we can only do so much.

Doug

Quote o the Day:

“I don’t know how I ever had time to work.” –  from almost every retired man I’ve ever spoken to.

Just for another issue to include, we have a heck of a time with time.   More later.

Stimulants can help.

Stimulants, anyone?

About doug with ADHD

I am a psychiatric physician. I learned I have ADHD at age 64, and then wrote two ADHD books for adults, focusing on strategies for making your life better. Your Life Can Be Better; strategies for adults with ADD/ADHD available at amazon.com, or smashwords.com (for e books) Living Daily With Adult ADD or ADHD: 365 Tips O the Day ( e-book). This is one tip at a time, one page at a time, at your own pace. It's meant to last a year. As a child, I was a bully. Then there was a transformation. Now I am committed to helping people instead abusing them. The Bully was published in January, 2016. It's in print or e book, on Amazon.
This entry was posted in add, ADD problems or symptoms, adhd, ADHD problems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Retirement, Time, and Other ADD ADHD Illusions — ADD Tip o the Day 518

  1. homemakersdaily says:

    “With ADD ADHD, we need to set priorities, limit the number of projects we try to do at once, and accept that we can only do so much.” Isn’t that the truth. Everything just looks SO interesting!!! And time seems endless – until I get to the end of the day and realize I ran out of it again.

    Yes, setting priorities is the key. One strategy I use with my to-do list is to limit it to 10 things (that list includes the basics, like Bible, Tidy & Sweep, Make dinner, etc.). I usually end up with a few time slots for extras. The idea is that by limiting it to 10, I have to pick what’s most important. And if I happen to get all 10 done, which I never do, I can make another list of 5 more things. If I don’t do the “10 things” list, I really struggle with focus.

    Liked by 1 person

    • homey- “Everything just looks SO interesting!!!”
      exactly.
      I need to keep my to do list down to five, but probably don’t include the basics that you include. some days, that doesn’t work, and I needto make a to do list of one.
      thanks for commenting.
      Doug

      Like

      • homemakersdaily says:

        Doug, I have to do a list of one sometimes, too. I had to make an abbreviated list this past Saturday. I was SO overwhelmed and unmotivated. Even though I had a good list, I couldn’t get started. So I made a list of 3 really easy things and did those. Then I added three more. Pretty soon I had accomplished a fair amount and salvaged the day.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. scott – good to hear from you! is that you making the violin? wow!
    Life is good, and it’s better if we limit the number of things on our lists. I think.
    Thank you for commenting.
    Doug

    Like

    • Scott Marckx says:

      Hi Doug,
      Yes that’s me. I think my ADD actually helps me with violin making, but there are the down sides too.
      So yesterday I had the long list, but I thought about it and narrowed it down to working on the second set of oars for my boat that I’ve been looking at and hoping to get done for over a year (maybe two?). That way my wife will come rowing with me. She’s been asking for a decent set for herself. So I made good progress on them and it was a good day. Maybe I’ll get a chance to finish the woodwork on them today or in the next week. The garden is still full of weeds going to seed and there are numerous other projects, but I got some good progress done and that makes all the difference.
      Thanks again for your book and posts here.
      All the best,
      Scott

      Liked by 1 person

      • scott – good for you.
        me too -sometimes i need to just pick one thing for each day for a while (or one piece, small step, of a big thing). if i get that done, then i can think about something else.
        and any progress is a big morale booster, which makes it easier to get things done.- Think about what’s been done instead of what hasn’t.
        i’m impressed -violins,boats, garden!
        thank you for commenting

        Like

  3. Scott Marckx says:

    Thanks Doug!
    This one is perfect for today (Saturday). I’ve got a long list of things I want to get done on my “day off”, but feel spread so thin, as I have so many interests! Life is good!
    All the best,
    Scott

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

